Valerie's 2021 Winter Picks

Want to read some of Valerie's favorite books? Add them to your cart below and choose either in-store pick up (which means contactless curbside pickup or by appointment browsing) or shipping.

 

Staff Pick Badge
Valentine: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062913265
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - March 31st, 2020

An instant New York Times Bestseller
A Read with Jenna Today Show Book Club Pick!

"A thrilling debut that deserves your attention." –Ron Charles, the Washington Post


Staff Pick Badge
What You Wish For: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250219367
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - July 14th, 2020

"The story’s message, that people should choose joy even (and especially) in difficult and painful times, seems tailor-made for this moment. A timely, uplifting read about finding joy in the midst of tragedy, filled with quirky characters and comforting warmth."—Kirkus (starred review)


Staff Pick Badge
The Exiles: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062356345
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Custom House - August 25th, 2020

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

OPTIONED FOR TELEVISION BY BRUNA PAPANDREA, THE PRODUCER OF HBO'S BIG LITTLE LIES


Staff Pick Badge
Prairie Lotus Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781328781505
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarion Books - March 3rd, 2020

Prairie Lotus is a powerful, touching, multilayered book about a girl determined to fit in and realize her dreams: getting an education, becoming a dressmaker in her father’s shop, and making at least one friend. Acclaimed, award-winning author Linda Sue Park has placed a young half-Asian girl, Hanna, in a small town in America’s heartland, in 1880.


Staff Pick Badge
Skunk and Badger (Skunk and Badger 1) Cover Image
By Amy Timberlake, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781643750057
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - September 15th, 2020

People Best Book for Kids of 2020
A KirkusReviews Best Children’s Book of 2020
A Booklist Editor’s Choice Book of 2020
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2020
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2020
Shelf Awareness for Readers Best Book of 2020
A New York Public


Staff Pick Badge
Bear Necessity: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982128296
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - August 4th, 2020

A heartwarming, poignant, and charming debut novel for fans of Nick Hornby and The Rosie Project, about a father and son overcoming their grief in surprisingly inventive ways.

Danny’s life is falling apart.


The Crow Trap: The First Vera Stanhope Mystery Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250122742
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Minotaur Books - February 21st, 2017

From Ann Cleeves—New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of the Vera and Shetland series, both of which are hit TV shows—comes The Crow Trap, the first in the Vera Stanhope series.

“Ann Cleeves is one of my favorite mystery writers.”—Louise Penny


Wake Up Grateful: The Transformative Practice of Taking Nothing for Granted Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781635862447
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Storey Publishing, LLC - November 24th, 2020

“Hugely inspiring and helpful.” — Jon Kabat-Zinn

Is it possible to be grateful in challenging times? Our wellbeing depends on it, but how do we achieve it?


Staff Pick Badge
The Switch: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250769862
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - August 18th, 2020

A grandmother and granddaughter swap lives in The Switch, a charming, romantic novel by Beth O’Leary, who has been hailed as “the new Jojo Moyes” (Cosmopolitan UK)...

When overachiever Leena Cotton is ordered to take a two-month sabbatical after blowing a big presentation at work, she escapes to her grandmother Eileen's house for some long-overdue rest.


Staff Pick Badge
Everything Sad Is Untrue: (a true story) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781646140008
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Levine Querido - August 25th, 2020

A National Indie Bestseller
An NPR Best Book of the Year
A New York Times Best Book of the Year
An Amazon Best Book of the Year
A Booklist Editors' Choice
A BookPage Best Book of the Year
A NECBA Windows & Mirrors Selection
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
A Wall Street Journal Best Book of the Year
A Today.com Best of the Year

PRAISE


Staff Pick Badge
See You on Sunday: A Cookbook for Family and Friends Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781400069927
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - February 18th, 2020

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the New York Times food editor and former restaurant critic comes a cookbook to help us rediscover the art of Sunday supper and the joy of gathering with friends and family
 
“A book to make home cooks, and those they feed, very happy indeed.”—Nigella Lawson


Staff Pick Badge
Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781571311771
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Milkweed Editions - October 13th, 2020

A New York Times Bestseller
A Washington Post Bestseller
A Los Angeles Times Bestseller
Named a "Best Essay Collection of the Decade" by Literary Hub
A Book Riot "Favorite Summer Read of 2020"
A Food Tank Fall 2020 Reading Recommendation


Staff Pick Badge
What Could Be Saved: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982150617
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - January 12th, 2021

“This brilliant portrayal of the lives of expats and their servants is also a suspenseful mystery with ever-darkening twists.


Staff Pick Badge
The Push: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781984881663
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pamela Dorman Books - January 5th, 2021

A GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK

An instant New York Times bestseller!

“Taut, chilling….Audrain has a gift for capturing the seemingly small moments that speak volumes about relationships.”
New York Times Book Review