Valerie's 2021 Winter Picks

Want to read some of Valerie's favorite books? Add them to your cart below and choose either in-store pick up (which means contactless curbside pickup or by appointment browsing) or shipping.

 

Staff Pick Badge
Valentine: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062913265
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - March 31st, 2020

An instant New York Times Bestseller
A Read with Jenna Today Show Book Club Pick!

"A thrilling debut that deserves your attention." –Ron Charles, the Washington Post


Staff Pick Badge
What You Wish For: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250219367
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - July 14th, 2020

"The story’s message, that people should choose joy even (and especially) in difficult and painful times, seems tailor-made for this moment. A timely, uplifting read about finding joy in the midst of tragedy, filled with quirky characters and comforting warmth."—Kirkus (starred review)


Staff Pick Badge
The Exiles: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062356345
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Custom House - August 25th, 2020

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

OPTIONED FOR TELEVISION BY BRUNA PAPANDREA, THE PRODUCER OF HBO'S BIG LITTLE LIES


Staff Pick Badge
Skunk and Badger (Skunk and Badger 1) Cover Image
By Amy Timberlake, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781643750057
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - September 15th, 2020

People Best Book for Kids of 2020
A Kirkus Reviews Best Children’s Book of 2020
A Booklist Editor’s Choice Book of 2020
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2020
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2020
Shelf Awareness for Readers Best Book of 2020
A New York


Staff Pick Badge
Bear Necessity: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982128296
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - August 4th, 2020

A heartwarming, poignant, and charming debut novel for fans of Nick Hornby and The Rosie Project, about a father and son overcoming their grief in surprisingly inventive ways.

Danny’s life is falling apart.


Wake Up Grateful: The Transformative Practice of Taking Nothing for Granted Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781635862447
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Storey Publishing, LLC - November 24th, 2020

“Hugely inspiring and helpful.” — Jon Kabat-Zinn

Is it possible to be grateful in challenging times? Our wellbeing depends on it, but how do we achieve it?


Staff Pick Badge
The Switch: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250769862
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - August 18th, 2020

A grandmother and granddaughter swap lives in The Switch, a charming, romantic novel by Beth O’Leary, who has been hailed as “the new Jojo Moyes” (Cosmopolitan UK)...

When overachiever Leena Cotton is ordered to take a two-month sabbatical after blowing a big presentation at work, she escapes to her grandmother Eileen's house for some long-overdue rest.


Staff Pick Badge
Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781571311771
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Milkweed Editions - October 13th, 2020

A New York Times Bestseller
A Washington Post Bestseller
A Los Angeles Times Bestseller
Named a "Best Essay Collection of the Decade" by Literary Hub
A Book Riot "Favorite Summer Read of 2020"
A Food Tank Fall 2020 Reading Recommendation


Staff Pick Badge
What Could Be Saved: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982150617
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - January 12th, 2021

“This brilliant portrayal of the lives of expats and their servants is also a suspenseful mystery with ever-darkening twists.


Staff Pick Badge
The Push: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781984881663
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pamela Dorman Books - January 5th, 2021

A GOOD MORNING AMERICA BOOK CLUB PICK

An instant New York Times bestseller!

“Taut, chilling….Audrain has a gift for capturing the seemingly small moments that speak volumes about relationships.”
New York Times Book Review

 


Staff Pick Badge
Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781571311771
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Milkweed Editions - October 13th, 2020

A New York Times Bestseller
A Washington Post Bestseller
A Los Angeles Times Bestseller
Named a "Best Essay Collection of the Decade" by Literary Hub
A Book Riot "Favorite Summer Read of 2020"
A Food Tank Fall 2020 Reading Recommendation


Staff Pick Badge
What Could Be Saved: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982150617
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - January 12th, 2021

“This brilliant portrayal of the lives of expats and their servants is also a suspenseful mystery with ever-darkening twists.


Staff Pick Badge
Robert E. Lee and Me: A Southerner's Reckoning with the Myth of the Lost Cause Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250239266
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - January 26th, 2021

"Ty Seidule scorches us with the truth and rivets us with his fierce sense of moral urgency." --Ron Chernow

In a forceful but humane narrative, former soldier and head of the West Point history department Ty Seidule's Robert E. Lee and Me challenges the myths and lies of the Confederate legacy—and explores why some of this country’s oldest wounds have never healed.


A Parchment of Leaves Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781949467253
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Blair - July 7th, 2020

In this nationally bestselling novel, A Parchment of Leaves, Silas House produced an iconic story of 1900s rural mountain Kentucky that remains a favorite of many of his fans.


Staff Pick Badge
The Authenticity Project: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781984878632
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - December 29th, 2020

A New York Times bestseller

WASHINGTON POST “FEEL-GOOD BOOK guaranteed to lift your spirits”


“A warm, charming tale about the rewards of revealing oneself, warts and all.”
—People


Staff Pick Badge
The Nature of Fragile Things Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780451492180
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - February 2nd, 2021

April 18, 1906: A massive earthquake rocks San Francisco just before daybreak, igniting a devouring inferno. Lives are lost, lives are shattered, but some rise from the ashes forever changed.


Staff Pick Badge
Everything Sad Is Untrue: (a true story) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781646140008
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Levine Querido - August 25th, 2020

A National Indie Bestseller
An NPR Best Book of the Year
A New York Times Best Book of the Year
An Amazon Best Book of the Year
A Booklist Editors' Choice
A BookPage Best Book of the Year
A NECBA Windows & Mirrors Selection
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
A Wall Street Journal Best Book of the Year


Staff Pick Badge
The Paris Library: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982134198
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - February 9th, 2021

Instant New York Times bestseller
USA TODAY and Washington Post bestseller


LibraryReads Pick and named a Most Anticipated Book of the Year by Library Journal and Goodreads

Based on the true World War II stor