Staff Picks

Staff Pick Badge
Violet and Jobie in the Wild By Lynne Rae Perkins, Lynne Rae Perkins (Illustrator) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062499691
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 13th, 2022

Newbery Medal winner Lynne Rae Perkins introduces Violet and Jobie, two house mice exiled to the wilderness, in an exceptional read-aloud and read-alone for fans of Skunk and Badger,Nuts to You, and classic animal stories such as Stuart Little.


Staff Pick Badge
The Tryout: A Graphic Novel By Christina Soontornvat, Joanna Cacao (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338741261
Availability: Usually Ships in 4-7 Days
Published: Graphix - September 6th, 2022

STAND TALL.

BE LOUD.

GAME FACE ON.

This pitch perfect graphic memoir about courage and competition, friendship and belonging is perfect for fans of Smile, New Kid, Rollergirl, and Real Friends.

“A captivating middle-grade gem.” — The New York Times Book Review

★ “Funny, re


Staff Pick Badge
Patchwork By Matt de la Peña, Corinna Luyken (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Matt de la Peña, Corinna Luyken (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984813961
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - August 30th, 2022

From a Newbery Medal-winning author and a New York Times bestselling illustrator comes a deeply moving ode to the complexity and uniqueness of every child.


Staff Pick Badge
Shot Clock By Caron Butler, Justin A. Reynolds Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063069596
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 6th, 2022

Former NBA All-Star Caron Butler and acclaimed author Justin A. Reynolds tip off the first book in a new middle grade series about a young boy trying to make his mark on an AAU basketball team coached by a former NBA star in his hometown. Perfect for fans of The Crossover and the Track series. A Junior Library Guild Selection!


Staff Pick Badge
A Taste of Magic By J. Elle Cover Image
By J. Elle
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547606719
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - August 30th, 2022

“An enchanting adventure that will leave readers hungry for more.” – Kwame Mbalia, #1 New York Times bestselling author

New York Times bestselling author J. Elle makes her middle grade debut in this magical new series about a Black girl who learns she's a witch and must save her inner-city magic school from closing, perfect for fans of Wendy Mass.


Staff Pick Badge
Abuela, Don't Forget Me By Rex Ogle Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781324019954
Availability: Usually Ships in 4-7 Days
Published: Norton Young Readers - September 6th, 2022

Rex Ogle’s companion to Free Lunch and Punching Bag weaves humor, heartbreak, and hope into life-affirming poems that honor his grandmother’s legacy.


Staff Pick Badge
The Epic Story of Every Living Thing By Deb Caletti Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593485507
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Labyrinth Road - September 13th, 2022

From the award-winning author of A Heart in a Body in The World comes a gorgeous and fiercely feminist young adult novel. When a teen travels to Hawaii to track down her sperm donor father, she discovers the truth about him, about the sunken shipwreck that’s become his obsession, and most of all about herself.


Staff Pick Badge
As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow By Zoulfa Katouh Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316351379
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 13th, 2022

A love letter to Syria and its people, As Long as the Lemon Trees Grow is a speculative novel set amid the Syrian Revolution, burning with the fires of hope, love, and possibility. Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Salt to the Sea.

Salama Kassab was a pharmacy student when the cries for freedom broke out in Syria.


Staff Pick Badge
Other Birds: A Novel By Sarah Addison Allen Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250019868
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - August 30th, 2022

The New York Times Bestseller

From the acclaimed author of Garden Spells comes an enchanting tale of lost souls, lonely strangers, secrets that shape us, and how the right flock can guide you home.


Staff Pick Badge
Carrie Soto Is Back: A Novel By Taylor Jenkins Reid Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593158685
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - August 30th, 2022

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “An epic adventure about a female athlete perhaps past her prime, brought back to the tennis court for one last grand slam” (Elle), from the author of Malibu Rising, Daisy Jones & The Six, and The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo


Staff Pick Badge
The Marriage Portrait: A novel By Maggie O'Farrell Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593320624
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - September 6th, 2022

REESE’S BOOK CLUB DECEMBER PICK • NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER • The author of award-winning Hamnet brings the world of Renaissance Italy to jewel-bright life in this unforgettable fictional portrait of the captivating young duchess Lucrezia de' Medici as she makes her way in a troubled court.


Staff Pick Badge
The Lost Ticket By Freya Sampson Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593201411
Availability: Usually Ships in 4-7 Days
Published: Berkley - August 30th, 2022

One of Amazon’s Best Books of September!

Strangers on a London bus unite to help an elderly man find his missed love connection in the heartwarming new novel from the acclaimed author of The Last Chance Library.


Staff Pick Badge
The Two Lives of Sara By Catherine Adel West Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780778333227
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Park Row - September 6th, 2022

Named a Most Anticipated Book of 2022 by Ms. Magazine, The Root, Popsugar, Bustle, and many more

"An utterly absorbing and dazzling novel about the stories we tell to stay alive and the secrets we keep to protect ourselves." -- Nancy Jooyoun Kim, New York Times Bestselling author of The Last Story of Mina Lee


Staff Pick Badge
The Enigma of Room 622: A Novel By Joël Dicker, Robert Bononno (Translated by) Cover Image
By Joël Dicker, Robert Bononno (Translated by)
$29.99
ISBN: 9780063098817
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperVia - September 13th, 2022

A September 2022 Amazon Best of the Month Pick


Staff Pick Badge
The American Roommate Experiment: A Novel By Elena Armas Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781668002773
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - September 6th, 2022

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A Most Anticipated Book of 2022 by Cosmopolitan, Goodreads, PopSugar, and more!

From the author of the Goodreads Choice Award winner The Spanish Love Deception, the eagerly anticipated follow-up featuring Rosie Graham and Lucas Martín, who are forced to share a New York apartment.

Rosie Gr


Staff Pick Badge
Lessons: A novel By Ian McEwan Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780593535202
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - September 13th, 2022

NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER • From the best-selling author of Atonement and Saturday comes the epic and intimate story of one man's life across generations and historical upheavals.


Staff Pick Badge
All That's Left Unsaid: A Novel By Tracey Lien Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780063227736
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - September 13th, 2022

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

A Phenomenal Book Club Pick!


Staff Pick Badge
Solito: A Memoir By Javier Zamora Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593498064
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth - September 6th, 2022

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • READ WITH JENNA BOOK CLUB PICK AS FEATURED ON TODAY • A young poet tells the inspiring story of his migration from El Salvador to the United States at the age of nine in this “gripping memoir” (NPR) of bravery, hope, and finding family.  


Staff Pick Badge
The Mosquito Bowl: A Game of Life and Death in World War II By Buzz Bissinger Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9780062879929
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - September 13th, 2022

Instant New York Times Bestseller


Staff Pick Badge
Alive at the End of the World By Saeed Jones, D. a. Powell (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Saeed Jones, D. a. Powell (Foreword by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781566896511
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Coffee House Press - September 13th, 2022

Pierced by grief and charged with history, this new poetry collection from the award-winning author of Prelude to Bruise and How We Fight for Our Lives confronts our everyday apocalypses.


Staff Pick Badge
Masala: Recipes from India, the Land of Spices [A Cookbook] By Anita Jaisinghani Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781984860705
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ten Speed Press - August 30th, 2022

Go inside the mind of a chef to learn the fundamentals of Indian cuisine and decode the secrets to cooking with spices in this beautiful collection of over 100 timeless recipes.
 
“This book will exhilarate your senses and invite you to explore the richness of Indian cuisine.”—Deepak Chopra