Memorial Middle School Summer Reading

The assignment is to choose one book for the Texas Library Association's Lone Star Reading List.

Staff Pick Badge
Not If I Save You First Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338134148
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - March 27th, 2018

Maddie thought she and Logan would be friends forever. But when your dad is a Secret Service agent and your best friend is the president's son, sometimes life has other plans. Before she knows it, Maddie's dad is dragging her to a cabin in the middle of the Alaskan wilderness. No phone. No Internet. And not a single word from Logan. Maddie tells herself it's okay.


The Storm Runner (A Storm Runner Novel, Book 1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781368016346
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - September 18th, 2018

A contemporary adventure based on Maya mythology from Rick Riordan Presents!


Time Bomb Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544416703
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - March 13th, 2018

Seven students trapped in their school after a bomb goes off must fight to survive while also discovering who among them is the bomber in this provocative new thriller from the author of the New York Times bestselling Testing Trilogy. Perfect for fans of This Is Where It Ends. 

A congressman's daughter who has to be perfect.


After Zero Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781492655329
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Young Readers - September 4th, 2018

"Powerful and poetic." --John David Anderson, author of Posted and Ms. Bixby's Last Day


Staff Pick Badge
The Parker Inheritance Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780545946179
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - March 27th, 2018

A Coretta Scott King Author Honor and Boston Globe / Horn Book Honor winner!

"Powerful.... Johnson writes about the long shadows of the past with such ambition that any reader with a taste for mystery will appreciate the puzzle Candice and Brandon must solve." -- The New York Times Book Review


Resistance Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338148473
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - August 28th, 2018

Chaya Lindner is a teenager living in Nazi-occupied Poland. Simply being Jewish places her in danger of being killed or sent to the camps. After her little sister is taken away, her younger brother disappears, and her parents all but give up hope, Chaya is determined to make a difference.


Ghost Boys Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316262286
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 17th, 2018

A heartbreaking and powerful story about a black boy killed by a police officer, drawing connections through history, from award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes.


City of Ghosts Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338111002
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - August 28th, 2018

A New York Times bestseller!

Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead . . . and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend is even a ghost.

So things are already pretty strange. But they're about to get much stranger.


In the Shadow of the Sun Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780545905749
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - June 27th, 2017

North Korea is known as the most repressive country on Earth, with a dictatorial leader, a starving population, and harsh punishment for rebellion.



Not the best place for a family vacation.


A Babysitter's Guide to Monster Hunting #1 (Babysitter's Guide to Monsters #1) Cover Image
By Joe Ballarini, Vivienne To (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9780062437846
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - June 4th, 2019

The Last Kids on Earth meets Goosebumps in this hilarious new series about a secret society of babysitters who protect kids from the monsters that really do live under their beds!


Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316515474
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 26th, 2019

A Stonewall Children's & Young Adult Honor Book!

In the wake of a destructive tornado, one girl develops feelings for another in this stunning, tender novel about emerging identity, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish.


The Night Diary Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780735228528
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - April 23rd, 2019

A 2019 NEWBERY HONOR BOOK

"A gripping, nuanced story of the human cost of conflict appropriate for both children and adults."


Everless Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062653673
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperTeen - December 4th, 2018

New York Times bestseller!

"Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time." —Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval


Letters to the Lost Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781681195919
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - March 6th, 2018

Juliet Young always writes letters to her mother, a world-traveling photojournalist. Even after her mother's death, she leaves letters at her grave. It's the only way Juliet can cope.

Declan Murphy isn't the sort of guy you want to cross. In the midst of his court-ordered community service at the local cemetery, he's trying to escape the demons of his past.


Restart Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9781338053807
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - March 27th, 2018

Chase's memory just went out the window.

Chase doesn't remember falling off the roof. He doesn't remember hitting his head. He doesn't, in fact, remember anything. He wakes up in a hospital room and suddenly has to learn his whole life all over again . . . starting with his own name.


Space Runners #1: The Moon Platoon Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780062445988
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - January 2nd, 2018

Star Wars meets Ridley Pearson’s Kingdom Keepers in this high-stakes intergalactic adventure! The Moon Platoon is the first book in an action-packed series for tweens that’s perfect for fans of Eoin Colfer and Lisa McMann.


From Twinkle, with Love Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781481495417
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon Pulse - May 14th, 2019

“Utterly charming.” —NPR
“Cinematic.” —Teen Vogue
“Funny and sweet.” —Buzzfeed
“Dazzling.” —Bustle


Three starred reviews for this charming romantic comedy about an aspiring teen filmmaker who finds her voice and falls in love, from the New York Times bests


The First Rule of Punk Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780425290422
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - July 17th, 2018

A 2018 Pura Belpré Author Honor Book

The First Rule of Punk
 is a wry and heartfelt exploration of friendship, finding your place, and learning to rock out like no one’s watching.
 


Black Panther The Young Prince Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781368008495
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Marvel Press - January 8th, 2019

Black Panther. Ruler of Wakanda. Avenger.

This is his destiny. But right now, he's simply T'Challa-the young prince.


Staff Pick Badge
Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316508896
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 25th, 2018

An instant New York Times bestseller!

"A Harry Potter-esque adventure." --Time Magazine

A breathtaking, enchanting new series by debut author Jessica Townsend, about a cursed girl who escapes death and finds herself in a magical world--but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination.