VIRTUAL: James Ponti | City of the Dead

What:

James Ponti will appear in conversation with Kelly Yang to celebrate the publication of his new novel City of the Dead.

  • This event is free to attend, but registration is required. You can register for the event here. Once you register, you will receive an invitation to join the event.
  • NOTE: Because this is a virtual event that will be hosted on Zoom, you will need access a computer or other device that is capable of accessing the internet at a sufficient bandwidth. If you have not used Zoom before, don't worry: It's easy! Here's a quick reference guide to help you get oriented: Getting Started with Zoom

When:

Monday, February 6, 2023 at 5:00 PM Central Time

We work hard to bring events to our community for free, because connecting readers with authors is central to our mission. But these programs are not free for us to put on! If you’re interested in attending this event, we hope you’ll consider purchasing a copy of City of the Dead from our bookshop.

Blue Willow Bookshop expects all participants to maintain an atmosphere of respect and fairness. Any comments or questions that violate this standard of behavior including any form of harassment, may, at the discretion of the organizers, be immediately removed.

About the Creator:

James Ponti is the New York Times bestselling author of three middle grade book series: the all-new City Spies, about an unlikely squad of five kids from around the world who form an elite MI6 Spy Team; the Edgar Award–winning Framed! series, about a pair of tweens who solve mysteries in Washington, DC; and the Dead City trilogy, about a secret society that polices the undead living beneath Manhattan. His books have appeared on more than fifteen different state award lists and he is the founder of a writers group known as the Renegades of Middle Grade. James is also an Emmy–nominated television writer and producer who has worked for many networks including Nickelodeon, Disney Channel, PBS, History, and Spike TV, as well as NBC Sports. He lives with his family in Orlando, Florida. Find out more at JamesPonti.com.

Ordering:

Payment type must be "CreditCard." Shipping will be charged if you want the book shipped to you. If you'd prefer to use our curbside pickup program, we ask that you please collect your book(s) within one month of the event date. After that date, your book will be donated to a Houston-based literacy organization.

International shipping can run from $25-50US in addition to the cost of the book and can take up to 3 months to reach its destination. Additionally, we can only ship to certain regions and countries. If you'd like to pursue international shipping, please email cathy@bluewillowbookshop.com.

Event date: 
Monday, February 6, 2023 - 5:00pm
Event address: 
City of the Dead (City Spies #4) By James Ponti Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781665911573
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Aladdin - February 7th, 2023

In this fourth installment in the New York Times bestselling series from Edgar Award winner James Ponti, the young group of spies go codebreaking in Cairo in another international adventure perfect for fans of Spy School and Mrs.


Forbidden City (City Spies #3) By James Ponti Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781534479227
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Aladdin - January 10th, 2023

In this third “thrilling” (Kirkus Reviews) installment in the New York Times bestselling series from Edgar Award winner James Ponti, the young group of spies help a fellow agent in another international adventure perfect for fans of Spy School and Mrs.


Golden Gate (City Spies #2) By James Ponti Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781534414952
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Aladdin - February 1st, 2022

In this second installment in the New York Times bestselling series from Edgar Award winner James Ponti, the young group of spies returns for another international adventure perfect for fans of Spy School and Mrs.


Staff Pick Badge
City Spies By James Ponti Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781534414921
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Aladdin - January 26th, 2021

A New York Times bestseller!
A GMA3 Summer Reading Squad Selection!
“Ingeniously plotted, and a grin-inducing delight.” —People
“Will keep young readers glued to the page…So when do I get the sequel?” —Beth McMullen, author of Mrs.


City Spies Classified Collection (Boxed Set): City Spies; Golden Gate; Forbidden City By James Ponti Cover Image
$54.99
ISBN: 9781665902649
Availability: Special Order
Published: Aladdin - February 22nd, 2022

In this thrilling and bestselling series Stuart Gibbs called “a must-read” from Edgar Award winner James Ponti, five kids from all over the world become real-life spies—perfect for fans of Spy School and Mrs. Smith’s Spy School for Girls. The first three books are now together in a collectible hardcover boxed set!

Sara Martinez is a hacker.


New from Here By Kelly Yang Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534488304
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 1st, 2022

An instant #1 New York Times bestseller!

This “timely and compelling” (Kirkus Reviews) middle grade novel about courage, hope, and resilience follows an Asian American boy fighting to keep his family together and stand up to racism during the initial outbreak of the coronavirus.

When the coronavirus hits Hong Kong, ten-year-old Knox Wei-Evans&


Staff Pick Badge
Finally Seen By Kelly Yang Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534488335
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - February 28th, 2023

From the New York Times bestselling author of Front Desk comes a gripping middle grade novel about a young girl who leaves China to live with her parents and sister, after five years apart, and learns about family, friendship, and the power of being finally seen.

My sister got to grow up with my parents. Me?