Tweens Read - Get Serious!

What:

Please join us for the Tweens Read panel Get Serious! - a discussion between James Bird, Dusti Bowling, and Alicia Williams! Tweens Read alum Elizbaeth Eulberg will moderate this panel.

When:

Wednesday, October 21, 2020, 1:30pm CDT

Where:

This event will be a Zoom webinar, please click here to register.

We work hard to bring events to our community for free, because connecting readers with authors is central to our mission. But these programs are not free for us to put on! If you’re interested in attending this event, we hope you’ll consider purchasing a copy of these authors books from our bookshop -- if you do, we'll include a bookplate signed by the authors for you to place in your book! It's our way of saying "thanks." Your support is critical to keeping us here and offering events like this, and we hope to do that for many years to come!

Blue Willow Bookshop expects all participants to maintain an atmosphere of respect and fairness. Any comments or questions that violate this standard of behavior including any form of harassment, may, at the discretion of the organizers, be immediately removed.

About the Panel Authors:

JAMES BIRD is a screenwriter and director at the independent film company, Zombot Pictures; his films include We Are Boats and Honeyglue. A California native of Ojibwe descent, he now lives in Swampscott, Massachusetts with his wife, the author and actor Adriana Mather, and their son. The Brave is his debut novel.

DUSTI BOWLING is the bestselling author of Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus, 24 Hours in NowhereMomentous Events in the Life of a Cactus, and The Canyon's Edge. Dusti holds a B.S. in Psychology and lives in Arizona with her husband, three daughters, a dozen tarantulas, a gopher snake named Burrito, a king snake name Death Noodle, and a cockatiel named Gandalf the Grey.

ALICIA D. WILLIAMS is the author of Genesis Begins Again, which received a Newbery and Kirkus Prize honors, was a William C. Morris Award finalist, and for which she won the Coretta Scott King - John Steptoe Award for New Talent. A graduate of the MFA program at Hamline University, and an oral storyteller in the African American tradition, she is also a teacher in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Ordering:

Payment type must be "CreditCard." Priority shipping will be charged if you want the book shipped to you. If you'd prefer to use our curbside pickup program, we ask that you please collect your book(s) within one month of the event date. After that date, your book will be donated to a Houston-based literacy organization.

International shipping is $35.

Event date: 
Wednesday, October 21, 2020 - 1:30pm
Event address: 
The Brave Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250247759
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - June 30th, 2020

Perfect for fans of Rain Reign, this middle-grade novel The Brave is about a boy with an OCD issue and his move to a reservation to live with his biological mother.


The Canyon's Edge Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316494694
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 8th, 2020

Hatchet meets Long Way Down in this heartfelt and gripping novel in verse about a young girl's struggle for survival after a climbing trip with her father goes terribly wrong.


Genesis Begins Again Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781481465816
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - August 18th, 2020

“Reminiscent of Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye.” —The New York Times

“One of the best books I have ever read…will live in the hearts of readers for the rest of their lives.” —Colby Sharp, founder of Nerdy Book Club

“An emotional, painful, yet still hopeful adolescent journey…one that needed


The Great Shelby Holmes Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781681190532
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - September 12th, 2017

Sherlock Holmes gets a fun, sweet twist with two irresistible young heroes and black & white illustrations throughout, in this middle grade debut from internationally bestselling YA author Elizabeth Eulberg.