Tweens Read 22

Mark your calendars for Tweens Read 2022, the amazing festival that connects middle grade readers with authors! We're going to try to hold this event in person in a way that makes every attendee feel safe and welcome.

Please check this page for COVID safety precautions and to get up to date information about the festival.

We recommend that you pre-register for the festival, as attendance will be capped this year. To do so, click here

A complete line up of authors and the schedule for the day can be found at the TeenBookCon website. To preorder authors' books, see below.

Event date: 
Saturday, October 8, 2022 - 9:30am
Event address: 
J. Frank Dobie High School
10220 Blackhawk Blvd
Houston, TX 77089
Staff Pick Badge
Thirst By Varsha Bajaj Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593354391
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - July 19th, 2022

A New York Times Bestseller

The riveting story of a heroic girl who fights for her belief that water should be for everyone.


Rick Riordan Presents The Lords of Night (A Shadow Bruja Novel Book 1) (Storm Runner) By J.C. Cervantes Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368066563
Availability: Usually Ships in 4-7 Days
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - October 4th, 2022

Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents J. C. Cervantes's exciting new spin-off from the best-selling STORM RUNNER trilogy.

"This duology opener is accessible to readers who are new to this world. An engrossing, god-filled delight."--Kirkus Reviews


Staff Pick Badge
The Marvellers (Marvellerverse #1) By Dhonielle Clayton, Khadijah Khatib (Illustrator) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250174949
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - May 3rd, 2022

Dhonielle Clayton makes her middle-grade debut with a fantasy adventure set in a global magic school in the sky an instant New York Times and #1 Indie Bestseller!

"The Marvellers deserves the highest compliment I can give a book: I want to live in this world." —Rick Riordan, #1 New York Times bestselling–author


El eclipse total de Néstor López / The Total Eclipse of Nestor Lopez (Spanish edition) By Adrianna Cuevas, Alexis Romay (Translated by) Cover Image
By Adrianna Cuevas, Alexis Romay (Translated by)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781250843692
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - September 20th, 2022

Lo único que Néstor López quiere es vivir en un mismo lugar por más de unos meses y cenar con su papá.

Después de que el papá de Néstor se marcha a otra misión, el muchacho y su mamá se mudan a un nuevo pueblo a vivir con su abuela. Néstor planea pasar desapercibido, y de ninguna manera quiere que nadie sepa su secreto más profundo: que puede hablar con los animales.


Staff Pick Badge
A Taste of Magic By J. Elle Cover Image
By J. Elle
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547606719
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - August 30th, 2022

“An enchanting adventure that will leave readers hungry for more.” – Kwame Mbalia, #1 New York Times bestselling author

New York Times bestselling author J. Elle makes her middle grade debut in this magical new series about a Black girl who learns she's a witch and must save her inner-city magic school from closing, perfect for fans of Wendy Mass.


Spy School Project X By Stuart Gibbs Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534479494
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 6th, 2022

In the tenth book in the New York Times bestselling Spy School series, Ben Ripley races against time and across state lines—by car, train, boat, and plane—to avoid his new cyber enemies and track down Murray Hill.

Ben Ripley’s longtime nemesis, Murray Hill, has put a price on Ben’s head and accused him of being at the center of a conspiracy on th


The Einsteins of Vista Point By Ben Guterson, Petur Antonsson (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Ben Guterson, Petur Antonsson (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316317436
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Christy Ottaviano Books - April 12th, 2022

After the tragic loss of their sister, Zack and his siblings band together to investigate a Morse Code-inspired mystery in this stunning novel about grief and resilience.  

When Zack’s younger sister dies in a tragic accident, his family moves to a small town in the Northwest to try and heal from all the pain.


Let's Make History! (Nathan Hale's Hazardous Tales): Create Your Own Comics By Nathan Hale Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781419765520
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amulet Books - October 11th, 2022

From the New York Times bestselling creator of the Hazardous Tales series comes an exciting activity book that puts kids’ writing, drawing, and researching to the test! Do you have what it takes to be a Hazardous Cartoonist?

Make your own way through history!


Remarkably Ruby (Emmie & Friends) By Terri Libenson, Terri Libenson (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Terri Libenson, Terri Libenson (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9780063139183
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 3rd, 2022

From bestselling author Terri Libenson, this is a story about how there’s more to everyone than meets the eye.

Pride. Popularity . . . Poetry? Middle school.

Ruby and Mia are total opposites:

Ruby is a little awkward, not a “joiner,” and loves to write poetry.

While Mia is type A, popular(ish), and wants to be class prez.


Staff Pick Badge
Honestly Elliott By Gillian McDunn Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781547606252
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - March 1st, 2022

Highly-acclaimed author of Caterpillar Summer, Gillian McDunn explores boyhood in a funny, big-hearted story about a kid trying to find the best way to be his best self.


Lines of Courage By Jennifer A. Nielsen Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338620931
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - May 17th, 2022

Jennifer A. Nielsen, award-winning author of A Night Divided and Rescue, artfully weaves together the stories of five kids living through World War I, each of whom holds the key to the others' futures...


Curse of the Werewolves (Supernatural Society #2) By Rex Ogle Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781335915832
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Inkyard Press - September 27th, 2022

"Monsters have never been so much fun." --Stuart Gibbs, New York Times bestselling author of the Spy School series on The Supernatural Society


Nikhil Out Loud By Maulik Pancholy Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063091924
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 11th, 2022

From the acclaimed actor and Stonewall Honor–winning author of The Best at It, Maulik Pancholy, comes a new middle grade novel about a gay Indian American boy who learns the power of using his voice. For fans of Merci Suárez Changes Gears and Better Nate Than Ever.


Staff Pick Badge
Tumble By Celia C. Pérez Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593325179
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Kokila - August 16th, 2022

From the award-winning author of The First Rule of Punk and Strange Birds, a dazzling novel about a young girl who collects the missing pieces of her origin story from the family of legendary luchadores she’s never met.


Ghosts Come Rising By Adam Perry Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781499813548
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Yellow Jacket - October 11th, 2022

In the mid 19th century, a religious movement called Spiritualism spread across America. Spiritualists believe that the living could communicate with the dead.


Pilar Ramirez and the Escape from Zafa (Pilar Ramirez Duology #1) By Julian Randall Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250774101
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 1st, 2022

The Land of Stories meets Dominican myths and legends come to life in Pilar Ramirez and the Escape from Zafa, a blockbuster contemporary middle-grade fantasy duology starter from Julian Randall. Fans of Tristan Strong and The Storm Runner, here is your next obsession.


Miles Morales: Stranger Tides (Original Spider-Man Graphic Novel) By Justin A. Reynolds, Pablo Leon (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Justin A. Reynolds, Pablo Leon (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338826395
Availability: Usually Ships in 4-7 Days
Published: Graphix - November 1st, 2022

An original middle-grade graphic novel from Graphix starring Miles Morales, by bestselling author Justin A. Reynolds and Eisner nominee Pablo Leon!

Join MIles Morales in his most epic adventure yet!

Miles Morales has just about gotten used to this being Spider-Man thing. Keeping Brooklyn safe, taking down bad guys, and finishing his homework—he’s got this!


The Clackity (Blight Harbor) By Lora Senf Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781665902670
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - June 28th, 2022

Reminiscent of Doll Bones and Small Spaces, this “delightfully eerie” (Erin A.


Staff Pick Badge
The Last Mapmaker By Christina Soontornvat Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536204957
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - April 12th, 2022

From Christina Soontornvat, the visionary and versatile author of two 2021 Newbery Honor Books, comes a high-seas adventure set in a Thai-inspired fantasy world.


Vampiric Vacation (The Sinister Summer Series #2) By Kiersten White Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593379080
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - September 27th, 2022

The spooky summer adventures of the Sinister-Winterbottom twins continue in another gothic mystery: can Theo and Alexander solve the secret of the Sanguine Spa in the little Transylvania Mountains?


Staff Pick Badge
Maizy Chen's Last Chance By Lisa Yee Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984830258
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - February 1st, 2022

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST • Twelve year-old Maizy discovers her family’s Chinese restaurant is full of secrets in this irresistible novel that celebrates food, fortune, and family.

Welcome to the Golden Palace!


Worser By Jennifer Ziegler Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780823449569
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret Ferguson Books - March 15th, 2022

A bullied 12-year-old boy must find a new normal after his mother has a stroke and his life is turned upside down.

William Wyatt Orser, a socially awkward middle schooler, is a wordsmith who, much to his annoyance, acquired the ironically ungrammatical nickname of “Worser" so long ago that few people at school know to call him anything else.