Texas Poetry Calendar

This is our signature poetry event of the year. We have hosted the wonderful poets of Texas for over a decade. Plan to come enjoy new poetry with the spirit of Texas. The calendar makes a wonderful gift for a friend or to keep yourself for your desk. The following poets will appear:

Vanessa Zimmer-Powell
Laurence Musgrove
Jerry Hamby
John Milkereit
Stan Crawford
Laurie Kolp
Trilla Pando
Margo Davis
Lynn Reynolds
Diana Conces
Kay Cox
Terry Jude Miller
Cindy Huyser
Laura Pena
Ben Groner

What:  Texas Poets read from and sign the 2016 Texas Poetry Calendar

When:  Saturday, August 29, 4:00 p.m.

Where:  Blue Willow Bookshop, 14532 Memorial Drive, Houston, TX  77079

Admission:  This event is free and open to the public. 


A limited number of autographed copies of this book will be available for purchase after the event. If you cannot attend the event, and would like a personalized copy of the book, please call us before the event at (281) 497-8675.

If you can't attend the event or need a copy shipped to you, you may call the store or add the appropriate book to your cart on our website. Payment type must be "CreditCard." In the order notes, add personalization details.

To place an international order, please email orders@bluewillowbookshop.com to obtain shipping details and to have items shipped to you. Staff will respond within 24-48 hours.

Event date: 
Saturday, August 29, 2015 - 4:00pm
Event address: 
SKU: 9780984039975

The cover itself is a treat—Jerry Hamby’s stunning photograph of the iconic Cadillac Ranch.

Inside you will discover 92 poems as diverse and original as the state itself. Texas State Poet Laureate Carmen Tafolla opens the calendar with a poem on the inside front cover. As you turn the pages, you’ll see names that have appeared in our calendar before, keeping company with poets who are published here for the first time. You’ll find young poets, established poets, and award-winning poets. You’ll find poems that invite multiple readings.

The Poets:
Leigh Allen, Robert Allen, Gloria Amescua, Linda Banks, Jan Benson, Michael Berton, Patricia Spears Bigelow, Leah Billingsley, Christine H. Boldt, Robin Bradford, Joan Canby, Ann Cefola, Jane Chance, Sandra Boike Cobb, Diana L. Conces, Julieta Corpus, Kay L. Cox, Stan Crawford, Cheney Crow, Chip Dameron, Margo Davis, Gail Denham, Lee Elsesser, Christine Gilbert, Lyman Grant, Martha K. Grant, Amy L. Greenspan, Barbara Randals Gregg, Ben Groner III, David Hale, Jerry Hamby, Carol Hamilton, Michelle Hartman, Michael Harty, R. E. Hausser, J. Todd Hawkins, Maggie Hess, Katherine Hoerth, Joanne Holladay, Beth Honeycutt, Ann Howells, Cindy Huyser, Aletha Irby, Katy Huth Jones, Marcelle Kasprowicz, Marta Knobloch, Laurie Kolp, Jim LaVilla-Havelin, Mark E. Lett, Rossy Evelin Lima, Ricki Mandeville, John C. Mannone, Anne McCrady, John Milkereit, Terry Jude Miller, Zee Mink-Fuller, Choonwha Moon, Thomas M. “Tom” Murphy, Laurence Musgrove, Katherine Durham Oldmixon, Patricia Adrianne Pamplin, Christa Pandey, Trilla Pando, Laura Peña, Dustin Pickering, Tina Posner, C. Samuel Rees, Lynn C. Reynolds, Dora Robinson, Margie McCreless Roe, Rie Sheridan Rose, Raúl Sánchez, Shubh Bala Schiesser, Karen Schneider, Naomi Stroud Simmons, Sandra Soli, Kimbol Soques, Mary Bryan Stafford, Dr. Charles A. Stone, Bradley R. Strahan, Carmen Tafolla, Susan Terris, Leticia Urieta, Mark van Gelder, Laura Villareal, Loretta Diane Walker, Barrett Warner, Sarah J. Webb, Christine Wenk-Harrison, Mary F. Whiteside, Jill Wiggins, Vanessa Zimmer-Powell