Tehlor Kay Mejia | Paola Santiago and the Forest of Nightmares

What:

Tehlor Kay Mejia will appear in conversation with Nina Moreno to celebrate Tehlor's new book Paola Santiago and the Forest of Nightmares.

  • This event is free to attend, but registration is required. You can register for the event here. Once you register, you will receive an invitation to join the event.
  • NOTE: Because this is a virtual event that will be hosted on Zoom, you will need access a computer or other device that is capable of accessing the internet at a sufficient bandwidth. If you have not used Zoom before, don't worry: It's easy! Here's a quick reference guide to help you get oriented: Getting Started with Zoom

When:

Saturday, August 7, 2021 at 12:00pm Central Time

We work hard to bring events to our community for free, because connecting readers with authors is central to our mission. But these programs are not free for us to put on! If you’re interested in attending this event, we hope you’ll consider purchasing a copy of Paola Santiago and the Forest of Nightmares from our bookshop. Your support is critical to keeping us here and offering events like this, and we hope to do that for many years to come! 

Blue Willow Bookshop expects all participants to maintain an atmosphere of respect and fairness. Any comments or questions that violate this standard of behavior including any form of harassment, may, at the discretion of the organizers, be immediately removed.

About the Author:

Tehlor Kay Mejia is an Oregon native in love with the alpine meadows and evergreen forests of her home state, where she lives with her daughter. When she's not writing, you can find her plucking at her guitar, stealing rosemary sprigs from overgrown gardens, or trying to make the perfect vegan tamale. She is the author of Paola Santiago and the River of Tears and the YA fantasy novels We Set the Dark on Fire and We Unleash the Merciless Storm. Follow her on Twitter @tehlorkay.

About the Conversational Partner:

Nina Moreno is a YA writer whose prose is somewhere between Southern fiction and a telenovela. She graduated from the University of Florida and writes about Latinas chasing their dreams, falling in love, and navigating life in the hyphen. She lives by a swamp outside of Orlando where she enjoys listening to carefully curated playlists, hunting through thrift stores, drinking too much Cuban coffee, and walking into the sea every chance she gets. Don't Date Rosa Santos is her first novel.

Ordering:

Payment type must be "CreditCard." Shipping will be charged if you want the book shipped to you. If you'd prefer to use our curbside pickup program, we ask that you please collect your book(s) within one month of the event date. After that date, your book will be donated to a Houston-based literacy organization.

International shipping can run from $25-50US in addition to the cost of the book and can take up to 3 months to reach its destination. Additionally, we can only ship to certain regions and countries. If you'd like to pursue international shipping, please email cathy@bluewillowbookshop.com.

Event date: 
Saturday, August 7, 2021 - 12:00pm
Event address: 
Paola Santiago and the Forest of Nightmares Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781368049344
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rick Riordan Presents - August 3rd, 2021

Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents the sequel to Tehlor Kay Mejia's critically acclaimed own-voices novel about science-obsessed Paola Santiago.

"Paola is a brilliant, furious girl who often trusts her brain but trips over her heart."--Sarah Gailey, Hugo and Locus award-winning author of River of Teeth


Don't Date Rosa Santos Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781368040860
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 14th, 2020

For fans of Gilmore Girls and To All the Boys I've Loved Before, this effervescent love story from debut author Nina Moreno will sweep you away.

Rosa Santos is cursed by the sea—at least, that's what they say. Dating her is bad news, especially if you're a boy with a boat.

But Rosa feels more caught than cursed. Caught between cultures and choices.