TeenBookCon - The Real Thing

What:

Please join us for the TeenBookCon panel The Real Thing - a discussion between Katie Henry, Shannon Takaoka, and Amy Noelle Parks, moderated by Samantha Mabry! 

Click here to view the full TeenBookCon schedule.

When:

Saturday, April 3, 2021, 3:30pm CDT

Where:

This event will be a Zoom webinar, please click here to register.

We work hard to bring events to our community for free, because connecting readers with authors is central to our mission. But these programs are not free for us to put on! If you’re interested in attending this event, we hope you’ll consider purchasing a copy of these authors books from our bookshop -- if you do, we'll include a bookplate signed by the authors for you to place in your book! It's our way of saying "thanks." Your support is critical to keeping us here and offering events like this, and we hope to do that for many years to come!

Blue Willow Bookshop expects all participants to maintain an atmosphere of respect and fairness. Any comments or questions that violate this standard of behavior including any form of harassment, may, at the discretion of the organizers, be immediately removed.

About the Panel Authors:

Katie Henry, author of Heretics Anonymous, Let's Call It a Doomsday, and This Will Be Funny Someday, is a writer living and working in New York City. She received her BFA in dramatic writing from NYU's Tisch School of the Arts and is a published playwright, specializing in theater for young audiences. Her plays have been performed by high schools and community organizations in over thirty states. You can find her online at www.katiehenrywrites.com.

Shannon Takaoka has worked as a writer, editor, and public relations consultant in the technology and life sciences field. She is a lover of all things nerdy--from time travel to weird science and dragons. Everything I Thought I Knew is her first novel. She lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband and two children.

Amy Noelle Parks is an associate professor at Michigan State University. When she's not using One Direction lyrics as a writing prompt, she's helping future teachers recover from the trauma of years of school mathematics. She lives in Michigan with her husband and two daughters.

About the Moderator:

Samantha Mabry credits her tendency toward magical thinking to her Grandmother Garcia, who would wash money in the kitchen sink to rinse off any bad spirits. She teaches writing and Latino literature at a community college in Dallas, where she lives with her husband, a historian, and a cat named Mouse. She is the author of A Fierce and Subtle Poison and All the Wind in the World. Visit her online at samanthamabry.com or on Twitter: @samanthamabry.

Ordering:

Payment type must be "CreditCard." Priority shipping will be charged if you want the book shipped to you. If you'd prefer to use our curbside pickup program, we ask that you please collect your book(s) within one month of the event date. After that date, your book will be donated to a Houston-based literacy organization.

International shipping is $35.

Event date: 
Saturday, April 3, 2021 - 3:30pm
Event address: 
This Will Be Funny Someday Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062955708
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 19th, 2021

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel comes to high school in acclaimed author Katie Henry’s coming-of-age YA contemporary about a girl who accidentally falls into the world of stand-up comedy. Perfect for fans of John Green and Becky Albertalli!


Everything I Thought I Knew Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781536207767
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - October 13th, 2020

A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just a heart from her donor in this compulsively readable debut.


The Quantum Weirdness of the Almost-Kiss Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781419739729
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amulet Books - January 5th, 2021

A debut YA rom-com about smart girls, love-struck boys, and quantum theory
 
Seventeen-year-old Evie Beckham has always been too occupied with her love of math and frequent battles with anxiety to want to date. Besides, she’s always found the idea of kissing to be kind of weird.


Tigers, Not Daughters Cover Image
$10.95
ISBN: 9781643751313
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - March 30th, 2021

A Kirkus Reviews Best Young Adult Book of 2020
SLJ Best Book of 2020
Shelf Awareness Best Book of 2020
A 2020 BCCB Blue Ribbon List title


“Move over, Louisa May Alcott!