TeenBookCon - How to Tell a Story

What:

Please join us for the TeenBookCon panel How to Tell a Story - a discussion between Mahogany L Browne, Eric Gansworth, and Randi Pink. moderated by author Isaac Fitzgerald! 

Click here to view the full TeenBookCon schedule.

When:

Saturday, April 3, 2021, 12:30pm CDT

Where:

This event will be a Zoom webinar, please click here to register.

We work hard to bring events to our community for free, because connecting readers with authors is central to our mission. But these programs are not free for us to put on! If you’re interested in attending this event, we hope you’ll consider purchasing a copy of these authors books from our bookshop -- if you do, we'll include a bookplate signed by the authors for you to place in your book! It's our way of saying "thanks." Your support is critical to keeping us here and offering events like this, and we hope to do that for many years to come!

Blue Willow Bookshop expects all participants to maintain an atmosphere of respect and fairness. Any comments or questions that violate this standard of behavior including any form of harassment, may, at the discretion of the organizers, be immediately removed.

About the Panel Authors:

Mahogany L. Browne is a writer, organizer & educator. Executive Director of Bowery Poetry Club & Artistic Director of Urban Word NYC & Poetry Coordinator at St. Francis College. Browne has received fellowships from Agnes Gund, Air Serenbe, Cave Canem, Poets House, Mellon Research & Rauschenberg. She is the author of recent works: Chlorine SkyWoke: A Young Poets Call to JusticeWoke Baby, & Black Girl Magic. As the founder of the diverse lit initiative, Woke Baby Book Fair, Browne is excited to release her newest poetry collection responding to the impact of mass incarceration on women and children:  I Remember Death By Its Proximity to What I Love (Haymarket Books),  She lives in Brooklyn, NY. 

Eric Gansworth is an enrolled Onondaga writer and visual artist, raised at the Tuscarora Nation. His award-winning books include If I Ever Get Out of Here, Give Me Some Truth, and Extra Indians. He is a Professor and Lowery Writer-in-Residence at Canisius College.

Randi Pink is the author of Girls Like Us, a School Library Journal Best Book of 2019, and Into White, also published by Feiwel and Friends/Macmillan. She lives with her family and two rescue dogs in Birmingham, Alabama.

About the Conversational Partner:

Isaac Fitzgerald has been a firefighter, worked on a boat, and was once given a sword by a king, thereby accomplishing three out of five of his childhood goals. After making a bunch of cool things for the internet, he now writes books and lives in Brooklyn, New York. You can find him online at @IsaacFitzgerald (Twitter), @isaac.fitzgerald (Instagram) or www.isaacfitzgerald.net.

Ordering:

Payment type must be "CreditCard." Priority shipping will be charged if you want the book shipped to you. If you'd prefer to use our curbside pickup program, we ask that you please collect your book(s) within one month of the event date. After that date, your book will be donated to a Houston-based literacy organization.

International shipping is $35.

Event date: 
Saturday, April 3, 2021 - 12:30pm
Event address: 
Chlorine Sky Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593176399
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 12th, 2021

A novel-in-verse about a young girl coming-of-age and stepping out of the shadow of her former best friend. Perfect for readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Nikki Grimes.

"Mahogany L. Browne's debut YA ia an absolute masterpiece. It will leave you breathless." -Elizabeth Acevedo, New York Times bestselling author of The Poet X


Apple: (Skin to the Core) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781646140138
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Levine Querido - October 6th, 2020

National Book Award Longlist
TIME's 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2020
NPR's Best Book of 2020
Shelf Awareness's Best Books of 2020
Publishers Weekly's Big Indie Books of Fall
Amazon's Best Book of the Month
AICL Best YA Books of 2020
CSMCL Best Multicultural Children's Books of 2020

PRAISE


Angel of Greenwood Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250768476
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - January 12th, 2021

A piercing, unforgettable love story set in Greenwood, Oklahoma, also known as the “Black Wall Street,” and against the Tulsa Race Massacre of 1921.


Staff Pick Badge
How to Be a Pirate Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781681197784
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - March 3rd, 2020

A National Bestseller!

"A beautiful, generous, fun collaboration of story and illustration and pirate tattoos. Seriously wise pirate advice for everyone." - Jon Scieszka, National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature