VIRTUAL: Fierce Reads Summer Lovin'

What:

Blue Willow is pleased to partner with Macmillan Children's Publishing Group to present Fierce Reads Summer Lovin'! 

Join Rosalyn Eves (An Improbable Season), Adiba Jaigirdar (The Dos and Donuts of Love), Mariama J. Lockington (Forever is Now) and Racquel Marie (You Don't Have a Shot) for a great evening celebrating four must-read romances for you this summer. This conversation will be moderated by Rachel Strolle.

  • This event is free to attend, but registration is required. You can register for the event here. Once you register, you will receive an invitation to join the event.
  • NOTE: Because this is a virtual event that will be hosted on Zoom, you will need access a computer or other device that is capable of accessing the internet at a sufficient bandwidth. If you have not used Zoom before, don't worry: It's easy! Here's a quick reference guide to help you get oriented: Getting Started with Zoom

When:

Wednesday, June 14, 2023 at 6:00 PM Central Time

We work hard to bring events to our community for free, because connecting readers with authors is central to our mission. But these programs are not free for us to put on! If you’re interested in attending this event, we hope you’ll consider purchasing copies of the authors' books from our bookshop.

Blue Willow Bookshop expects all participants to maintain an atmosphere of respect and fairness. Anyone making comments or questions that violate this standard of behavior including any form of harassment, may, at the discretion of the organizers, be immediately removed.

About the Creators:

Rosalyn Eves grew up in the Rocky Mountains, dividing her time between reading books and bossing her siblings into performing her dramatic scripts. As an adult, the telling and reading of stories is still one of her favorite things to do. She is the author of the historical fantasy trilogy Blood Rose Rebellion and Beyond the Mapped Stars. When she’s not reading, writing, or teaching writing at Southern Utah University, she enjoys spending time with her chemistry professor husband and three children, watching British period pieces, or hiking.

Adiba Jaigirdar is the critically-acclaimed and bestselling author of The Henna Wars and Hani & Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating. A Bangladeshi/Irish writer and teacher, she has an MA in Postcolonial Studies from the University of Kent, England and a BA in English and History from UCD, Ireland. All of her writing is aided by tea, and a healthy dose of Janelle Monáe and Hayley Kiyoko. When not writing, she is probably ranting about the ills of colonialism, playing video games, or expanding her overflowing lipstick collection. She can be found on Twitter and on Instagram.

Mariama J. Lockington is an adoptee, educator, and Stonewall Honor–winning author. She has been telling stories and making her own books since the second grade, when she wore short-alls and flower leggings every day to school. She is the author of For Black Girls Like Me, In the Key of Us, and Forever is Now, as well as a poetry chapbook The Lucky Daughter. Mariama holds a Masters in Education from Lesley University and Masters in Fine Arts in Poetry from San Francisco State University. She lives in Lexington, KY with her partner and dapple haired dachshund, Henry.

Racquel Marie grew up in Southern California, where her passion for storytelling of all kinds was encouraged by her friends and big family. She received a BA in English with an emphasis in creative writing and a minor in gender and sexuality studies from the University of California, Irvine. She is the author of Ophelia After All, You Don’t Have a Shot, and many unfinished first drafts.

About the Moderator:

Rachel Strolle is the Teen Services Coordinator at a public library in the western suburbs of Chicago. As a freelance book blogger, she has written posts and quizzes for Buzzfeed, Reader’s Digest, Paste Magazine, the Barnes & Noble Teen blog, and the dearly departed Bitch Media. In addition, she is the Communications Director for YALLFest and YALLWEST book festivals. Previously, she was an indie bookseller, where she co-created and ran bookish summer camps for teens. She is still not over the cancellation of Pushing Daisies.

Ordering:

Payment type must be "CreditCard." Shipping will be charged if you want the book shipped to you. If you'd prefer to use our curbside pickup program, we ask that you please collect your book(s) within one month of the event date. After that date, your book will be donated to a Houston-based literacy organization.

International shipping can run from $25-50US in addition to the cost of the book and can take up to 3 months to reach its destination. Additionally, we can only ship to certain regions and countries. If you'd like to pursue international shipping, please email cathy@bluewillowbookshop.com.

Event date: 
Wednesday, June 14, 2023 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
An Improbable Season (Unexpected Seasons #1) By Rosalyn Eves Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780374390181
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - April 25th, 2023

For fans of Bridgerton, a Regency romance by Rosalyn Eves about three young women, their big dreams, and a London Season gone awry.


The Dos and Donuts of Love By Adiba Jaigirdar Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250842114
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - June 6th, 2023

A pun-filled YA contemporary romance, The Dos and Donuts of Love by Adiba Jaigirdar finds a teenage girl competing in a televised baking competition, with contestants including her ex-girlfriend and a potential new crush - perfect for fans of The Great British Bake Off and She Drives Me Crazy!


Forever Is Now By Mariama J. Lockington Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780374388881
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - May 23rd, 2023

SCHNEIDER FAMILY BOOK AWARD WINNER A poignant and lyrical young adult novel-in-verse about a Black teen coming of age in an anxiety-inducing world, from the author of For Black Girls Like Me and In the Key of Us.

I'm safe here.


You Don't Have a Shot By Racquel Marie Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250836298
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - May 9th, 2023

A queer YA romance about rival soccer players from author Racquel Marie, perfect for fans of She Drives Me Crazy.