Bookworm 2022

Begun in 2014, the Bookworm Festival is a fun event that celebrates emerging readers, and those who write for them. Librarians and language arts teachers from across Houston comprise the steering committee for this event. Their goal is to connect emerging readers with authors to foster the joy of reading. We hope you'll join us!

Bookworm 2022 will be a VIRTUAL EVENT held over Zoom! The panels will be uploaded to YouTube each evening, for on-demand viewing, and will remain there for 2 weeks. 

PLEASE NOTE:  Individuals are not allowed to record panels.

To purchase books, scroll through this page and add them to your cart!

To register for a panel:

  1. Click on the name of the panel you want to attend.
  2. Click the link that says "please click here to register".
  3. Type in First and Last name as well as email.
  4. Click the blue "Register" button.

You should receive an email from Zoom with the link information confirming your registration. That's it, you're ready to go!

This year's authors are:

Monday, January 31st:  Juana Medina & Greg Pizzoli

Tuesday, February 1st: Margaret Chiu Greanias, Tracy Subisak & Nancy Krulik

Wednesday, February 2nd:  Mike Curato & Jennifer E. Smith

Thursday, February 3rd:  Antwan Eady, Gracey Zhang & Meg Wolitzer

Friday, February 4th:  Kelly diPucchio & Naaz Khan

I Will!: A Book of Promises (An I WILL! Book) Cover Image
By Juana Medina, Juana Medina (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780358555599
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Versify - October 12th, 2021

From Pura Belpré Award-winning author-illustrator Juana Medina, I WILL! helps young readers to affirm how they will act with bold, colorful illustrations and simple text. This paper-over-board picture book is the first in Medina's I WILL! series.

I will be kind to others.

I will tell the truth, even if it’s hard.


Staff Pick Badge
Baloney and Friends: Dream Big! (Baloney & Friends #3) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316218559
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - February 8th, 2022

Baloney and friends are reaching for the stars—but not without some funny obstacles along the way! Whether they're creating a masterpiece, destroying a birthday cake, or debating online comments about themselves, these lovable characters know how to dream big!


Staff Pick Badge
Amah Faraway Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781547607211
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - January 25th, 2022

A delightful story of a child's visit to a grandmother and home far away, and of how families connect and love across distance, language, and cultures.

Kylie is nervous about visiting her grandmother-her Amah-who lives SO FAR AWAY.


Staff Pick Badge
The Great Mathemachicken 1: Hide and Go Beak Cover Image
By Nancy Krulik, Charlie Alder (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781645950325
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pixel+Ink - January 18th, 2022

A new young chapter book series about a chicken who loves math, science, and learning new things--by New York Times bestselling author Nancy Krulik for fans of Unlimited Squirrel and Bumble and Bee.


Staff Pick Badge
Where Is Bina Bear? Cover Image
By Mike Curato, Mike Curato (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250762207
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - January 11th, 2022

In Mike Curato's funny, poignant picture book Where Is Bina Bear?, a little rabbit throws a party—but can't find best friend Bina Bear anywhere!


The Creature of Habit Cover Image
By Jennifer E. Smith, Leo Espinosa (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593173053
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Studio - November 9th, 2021

A delightful picture book about a creature of habit whose routine suddenly gets disrupted by the unexpected arrival of a new friend. A perfect story for little readers learning social emotional skills that explores the joy of trying something new!


Staff Pick Badge
Nigel and the Moon Cover Image
By Antwan Eady, Gracey Zhang (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063056282
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - February 15th, 2022

From debut author Antwan Eady and artist Gracey Zhang comes a glowing tale about the young dreaming big. A perfect story to demonstrate how pride in where we come from can bring a shining confidence.

When Nigel looks up at the moon, his future is bright. He imagines himself as…an astronaut, a dancer, a superhero, too!


Millions of Maxes Cover Image
By Meg Wolitzer, Micah Player (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593324110
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Rocky Pond Books - January 11th, 2022

Max discovers that uniqueness is more than just a name, in this funny, lively picture book debut by the bestselling author of The Interestings.


Lala's Words: A Story of Planting Kindness Cover Image
By Gracey Zhang, Gracey Zhang (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338648232
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Inc. - July 6th, 2021

Winner of the 2022 Ezra Jack Keats Illustrator Award!

From debut author-illustrator Gracey Zhang comes a timeless and timely picture book that celebrates the unassuming power of kind words.

Oh, there goes Lala! She carries a pot of water around the corner, down the block, and over the fence, to a patch of dirt and concrete where tiny weeds sprout.


Staff Pick Badge
Oona and the Shark Cover Image
By Kelly DiPucchio, Raissa Figueroa (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063071421
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - March 22nd, 2022

The big sea’s littlest mischief-maker, Oona, is back in another delightful tale from New York Times bestselling author Kelly DiPucchio and Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award winner Raissa Figueroa.


Room for Everyone Cover Image
By Naaz Khan, Mercè López (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534431393
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - November 9th, 2021

A young boy on a crowded bus discovers that, after some wiggles and giggles, there’s room for everyone in this lighthearted rhyming picture book set in Zanzibar.

The dala dala rumbles and roars as Musa and Dada drive off to the shore—but the bus stops for multiple detours: “Do you need a ride? It’s hotter than peppers out there in the sun!


Eyes That Speak to the Stars Cover Image
By Joanna Ho, Dung Ho (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063057753
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - February 15th, 2022

New York Times bestselling team Joanna Ho and Dung Ho present Eyes That Speak to the Stars, companion to the acclaimed Eyes That Kiss in the Corners.

“A brilliant treatise to love of self and heritage.” —School Library Journal (starred review)


The Home Builders Cover Image
By Varsha Bajaj, Simona Mulazzani (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399166853
Availability: Usually Ships in 4-7 Days
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - February 12th, 2019

This vibrantly illustrated picture book celebrates a variety of woodland creatures as they make their homes and prepare for their young.


Staff Pick Badge
The Old Boat Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781324005179
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Norton Young Readers - March 2nd, 2021

Washington Post Best Children's Book of 2021

A New York Public Library Best Book of 2021

The creators of The Old Truck set sail with an old boat and an evocative, intricately crafted exploration of home and family.

Off a small island,

an old boat sets sail

and a young boy

finds home.


Everybody in the Red Brick Building Cover Image
By Anne Wynter, Oge Mora (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062865762
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 19th, 2021

A fresh, urban take on bedtime stories in the spirit of The House That Jack Built and Chicka Chicka Boom Boom, from debut author Anne Wynter and Caldecott Honoree Oge Mora.

Everybody in the red brick building was asleep. Until . . .

WaaaAAH!

Rraak! Wake up!

Pitter patter STOMP!

Pssheew!