New Kid Lib/E (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
New Kid Lib/E Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Robin Miles (Read by), Rebecca Soler (Read by)
$29.99
Special Order

Staff Reviews


When his parents decide to send him to a new school for seventh grade, African-American student Jordan has to confront a whole new world. He's attending an elite private school with great facilities, but few students of color attend, which makes Jordan feel "other" more often than not while he struggles to navigate his new school culture. Craft tells this story with honesty and humor, making this graphic novel an engaging must read for both young and adult readers. For grades 4 and up.

— Cathy

Spring 2019 Kids Indie Next List


New Kid tackles diversity and inclusion with humor and charm. Jordan Banks wants to go to art school, but his mother sends him to Riverdale, a predominantly white private school, to increase his opportunities. Jordan teams up with Liam and Drew and along the way starts to enjoy himself. Craft uses pop culture parody references to start each chapter and includes drawings by Jordan throughout the book. The graphic novel format is perfect for a kid who loves art and also serves to take the story deeper as the pictures add another layer. Highly recommended for new kids and old ones!”
— Kathy Burnette, The Brain Lair, South Bend, IN

Description


An original full-cast audio adaptation of the graphic novel from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft, performed by the author with Jesus Del Orden, Nile Bullock, Robin Miles, Guy Lockard, Peyton Lusk, Rebecca Soler, Dan Bittner, Phoebe Strole, Marc Thompson, Miles Harvey, and Ron Butler.

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds--and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?

Filled with sound effects and original music, this audio adventure is one the whole family will enjoy.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781982609030
ISBN-10: 1982609036
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: February 5th, 2019
Language: English