The Graveyard Shift (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Graveyard Shift By Maria Lewis Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Jun 25 2:50am
(FICTION--GENERAL)

Staff Reviews


Tinsley does not shy away from horror, in fact, she loves it and is up to date on any horror movie out there. Using her passion, she hosts The Graveyard Shift, an 11pm-6am radio slot dedicated to songs used in horror movies. When Halloween comes around, she prepares a few treats for her listeners, however, she did not expect a live murder to occur on air. While there is no apparent threat towards Tinsley, she is unable to shrug off the feeling that danger is near. Read along to find out if Tinsley survives!

— Ayah

Description


When a horror-loving radio show becomes the stage of a gruesome murder, its host Tinsel Monroe is put next on the killer's list…

A fast paced, thrilling murder mystery novel, paying homage to slasher films of the 90’s, The Graveyard Shift is the perfect Halloween read for fans of Riley Sager and Grady Hendrix.


Tinsel Munroe has busted her guts to get where she is. Yet her dream of working in radio hasn’t turned out to be everything she hoped it would. Sure, she has her own show – aptly titled The Graveyard Shift – where she celebrates the sounds of cult-cinema, but the wage is barely enough to cover her rent and the midnight hours are putting a strain on her relationship with her boyfriend. Even after three years at Melbourne’s coolest station, she’s seemingly no closer to a prime-time slot.

That is, until someone is murdered live on air. 

Mistaking it for a Halloween prank, a visit from police informs Tinsel that the hysterical call was – in fact – the real deal. She’s freaked out, but her true-crime obsessed sister Pandora is fascinated. 

While detectives assure them the killer will soon be caught, the bodies continue to drop with the killer striking in increasingly gruesome ways. With a growing, macabre audience to her radio show, that potentially includes the killer, Tinsel begins receiving strange messages over the text-in lines. Her workplace, and even her home, are suddenly not the sanctuaries she once thought. 

Tinsel and her sister are left with no choice but to team up with Detective James as they race to find the connection between her and the culprit. The people she thought she could trust are now those she should fear the most. In order to survive, Tinsel is going to have to listen to more than just the airwaves…

About the Author


MARIA LEWIS is a screenwriter, best-selling author, and pop culture etymologist based in Australia. She’s the writer of the Supernatural Sisters series, which includes the Aurealis Award-winning The Witch Who Courted Death. As a screenwriter, she has worked on projects for Netflix, AMC, DC Comics, Ubisoft, Marvel and many more. She’s the host, writer and producer of audio documentaries The Phantom Never Dies and Josie and the Podcats.

Praise For…


“The post-ironic 90s slasher film gets the smart-assed Final Grrrl it always deserved. What a great read!”
– Patton Oswalt

"A fast paced, thrilling murder mystery novel, paying homage to slasher films of the 90’s, The Graveyard Shift is the perfect Halloween read for fans of Riley Sager and Grady Hendrix."
– Jump Scares

"Horror fans may get a kick out of the abundant soundtrack-focused trivia,"
– Publishers Weekly

“My fave read of the year. A perfect amalgamation of pop culture references and sustained suspense with a refreshing feminist twist. This book slayed in every way! The Graveyard Shift is a genuine must read for horror fanatics from one of today’s leading female voices in the genre scene.”
– Alice Maio Mackay

“A perfect cocktail of current pop culture and 90s slasher movies/Grrrl Power nostalgia, The Graveyard Shift is an unrivaled, cinematic thrill ride. I honestly can't remember the last time I read a book that zapped my pulse like this one did.”
– Lexi Alexander (Punisher: War Zone, Green Street Hooligans) 


Product Details
ISBN: 9781915523068
ISBN-10: 1915523060
Publisher: Datura Books
Publication Date: September 12th, 2023
Pages: 328
Language: English