Far From Normal (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Far From Normal Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
19 on hand, as of Nov 25 3:30am
(CHILDREN TEEN READS)

Staff Reviews


Maddie McPherson lands a summer internship at a sports marketing company in Chicago. After a meet cute at the beach, she's assigned to repair the image of teen soccer phenom Gabriel Fortunato. Gabe's always showing up on social media and in the tabloids and is best known for flubbing Italy's chance at the World Cup. As she begins to fall for Gabe, Maddie wonders if she can do the job her boss expects while still looking out for Gabe's interests. A cute modern rom-com for fans of Jenny Han and Morgan Matson.

— Cathy

Description


From Stealing Home author Becky Wallace comes a Devil Wears Prada-inspired YA romance, in which “normal girl” Maddie must repair the image of Major League Soccer’s bad boy to ace her internship. A perfect read for fans of Morgan Matson and Miranda Kenneally.

Maddie McPherson is sick of Normal—both her hometown of Normal, Illinois and being the ‘normal’ sibling. But when she lands a summer internship with a sports marketing firm, she finally has a chance to crawl out of her genius brother’s shadow. Not to mention, a glowing letter of recommendation could secure her admission to her dream college.

But Maddie’s nickname is “CalaMaddie” for a reason, and when the company tasks her with repairing the image of teen soccer phenom Gabriel Fortunato, she wonders if she’s set herself up for embarrassment. Gabriel is a tabloid magnet, who’s best-known for flubbing Italy’s World Cup hopes. As Maddie works with him to develop “pleasant and friendly” content for social media, she also learns he’s thoughtful, multi-talented, and fiercely loyal—maybe even to a fault. Falling for a footballer is exactly how CalaMaddie would botch this internship, but with the firm pressuring her to get the job done, perhaps her heart is worth risking?

About the Author


Becky Wallace is the award-winning author of Stealing Home (Page Street), The Storyspinner, and The Skylighter (S&S/ McElderry). She’s a sucker for slow-burn romances, near-miss kisses, and ordinary people doing extraordinary things. Becky worked for a minor-league baseball team, edited a sports marketing magazine, and toured internationally as a ballroom dancer before settling down in Houston, Texas, with her husband, four children, and one very fluffy puppy. Follow her on Twitter and Instagram @BeckyWallace1


Product Details
ISBN: 9781645670568
ISBN-10: 1645670562
Publisher: Page Street Kids
Publication Date: September 22nd, 2020
Pages: 240