Trouble at the Tangerine (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Trouble at the Tangerine By Gillian McDunn Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Apr 15 3:33am
(CHILDREN JUV NOVELS)

Staff Reviews


Simon is tired of moving around. His parents work remotely and love adventures and have a popular social media account called "The Hydes Go Seek." But Simon has a plan to get them to stay put and let him put down roots — he's found a fun town, close enough to beaches and mountains for his parents to feel like they can get away, and they are moving into a quaint apartment building called the Tangerine Pines. But when a valuable necklace is stolen from a neighbor on their first night there, Simon is worried his parents won't want to stay. He teams up with his new friend Amaya to solve the mystery, and learns some lessons about friendship along the way. A great cozy mystery for kids!

— Aerie

Description


Award-winning author Gillian McDunn pens a delightfully quirky mystery that examines the meaning of home, perfect for fans of The Vanderbeekers series.

Simon's family is always on the move. Every few months, they load up their van, “Vincent Van Go,” and set off for a new adventure. According to his dad, you can't live an extraordinary life by staying in one place. But all Simon wants is to settle down, so he's hatched a plan: to make their latest apartment in the Tangerine Pines building his forever home.

When a priceless necklace is stolen, clues indicate the thief might actually be another neighbor. Simon worries he'll have to move again if the thief isn't caught. He usually doesn't go looking for trouble, but if retrieving the necklace means establishing home, Simon is willing to risk it. With the help of his neighbor Amaya, pet sitter, plant-waterer, and podcaster extraordinaire, Simon is determined to crack the case and finally put down roots.

About the Author


Gillian McDunn is the award-winning author of Caterpillar Summer, The Queen Bee and Me, These Unlucky Stars, Honestly Elliott, the Schneider Family Book Award Honor winner, and When Sea Becomes Sky. Her books have been Parents magazine best book of the year, Kirkus Reviews best book of the year, and Junior Library Guild, IndieNext, and Bank Street College of Education Best Books selections. When she isn't reading or writing, she is probably trying a new recipe, playing a board game, or learning something new. She lives near Raleigh, North Carolina, with her husband, children, and a very silly dog named Friday.
www.gillianmcdunn.com
@gillianmcdunn

Praise For…


“An excellent purchase for middle grade mystery collections that will be an easy sell for kids and teachers alike.” —School Library Journal

“In this quiet story of hope, belonging, and adventure, McDunn (When Sea Becomes Sky) presents Simor's sincere worries and charming schemes with a humorous, lighthearted approach.” —Publishers Weekly

“McDunn's characters are nicely realized, and the mystery is satisfyingly resolved.” —Kirkus Reviews

“A novel full of heart, humor, and honesty. . . . Elliot is an instantly lovable character, and readers will be hooked from the very first chapter.” —School Library Journal, starred review, on HONESTLY ELLIOTT

“In a droll, engaging, self-effacing, and disarmingly open voice, Elliott narrates his story, providing realistic, firsthand insights into living with ADHD. . . . A refreshingly honest exploration of family and friendship.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on HONESTLY ELLIOTT

“McDunn has a talent for creating sympathetic characters. . . . This well-paced, heartfelt chapter book offers a lovable main character, a lively supporting cast, and a satisfying conclusion.” —Booklist, starred review, on HONESTLY ELLIOTT

“McDunn (These Unlucky Stars) offers an affirming and nuanced depiction of empathetic and creative Elliott's experience of ADHD. . . . Elliott's relationship with his father, from whom he craves acceptance despite his dad's failure to acknowledge Elliott's specific challenges, is particularly inspiring as the two work toward openness and understanding.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review, on HONESTLY ELLIOTT



Product Details
ISBN: 9781547611003
ISBN-10: 1547611006
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books
Publication Date: April 2nd, 2024
Pages: 256
Language: English