Endling: The Last (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
Endling: The Last Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Endling series.

Staff Reviews

As dairnes go, Byx is fairly unremarkable at first blush. But when her pack is hunted down and killed, she grows concerned that she’s the last of her species. So begins her hero’s journey, which is jam-packed with memorable fantasy characters, uneasy alliances and peculiar friendships, and a heaping serving of derring-do. Applegate guides the plot along with deftness and grace. (You’ll soon forget that there was ever a time that you didn’t know what a wobbyk is.) She gives us lush, rich descriptions when they’re called for, and she knows when to step back and let a few well-chosen words speak volumes. Through it all, she delivers a clear call for fairness, compassion, and ecological stewardship. Another winner from the author of The One and Only Ivan and wishtree. Best for grades 3 and up.

— Noah

Summer 2018 Kids Indie Next List

“Rats, rats, rats...as I got closer to the end I realized this must be book #1 in a series! Byx is such a wonderful creative character (with her abilities of gliding and determining whether or not a speaker is lying) along with Tobble and his fierce loyalty to Byx. This book gives us much to think about and compare to today's world with taking care of creatures, (including humans) and the environment. I can't wait to read where their adventures will take them in the next book!”
— Nancy Gebhardt, The Twig Book Shop, San Antonio, TX


New York Times bestseller

First Katherine Applegate thrilled readers with the action-packed Animorphs series. Then she stole our hearts with the award-winning The One and Only Ivan. Now she takes us on an unforgettable journey in this first book of an epic middle grade series

Byx is the youngest member of her dairne pack. Believed to possess remarkable abilities, her mythical doglike species has been hunted to near extinction in the war-torn kingdom of Nedarra.

After her pack is hunted down and killed, Byx fears she may be the last of her species. The Endling. So Byx sets out to find safe haven, and to see if the legends of other hidden dairnes are true.

Along the way, she meets new allies--both animals and humans alike--who each have their own motivations for joining her quest. And although they begin as strangers, they become their own kind of family--one that will ultimately uncover a secret that may threaten every creature in their world.

Building upon the success of her critically acclaimed novels such as The One and Only Ivan, Crenshaw, and Wishtree, while also returning to her action-packed fantasy roots of Animorphs, the Endling series is Katherine Applegate at her finest. With its enthralling characters, unique setting, and gripping adventure, this series is the perfect next read for fans of Rick Riordan, Brian Jacques, and Tui T. Sutherland.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781538497951
ISBN-10: 1538497956
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: May 1st, 2018
Language: English
Series: Endling