Les Miserables (Classic Collection (Brilliance Audio)) (Abridged / Compact Disc)

Les Miserables (Classic Collection (Brilliance Audio)) Cover Image
By Victor Hugo, Walter Covell (Read by)
Special Order


Les Miserables is set in the Parisian underworld. The protagonist, Jean Valjean, is sentenced to prison for 19 years for stealing a loaf of bread. After his release, Valjean plans to rob monseigneur Myriel, a saint-like bishop, but cancels his plan. However, he forfeits his parole by committing a minor crime, and for this crime Valjean is haunted by the police inspector Javert. Valjean eventually reforms and becomes, under the name of M. Madeleine, a successful businessman, benefactor, and mayor of a northern town. To save an innocent man, Valjean gives himself up and is imprisoned in Toulon. He escapes and adopts Cosette, an illegitimate child of a poor woman, Fantine. Cosette grows up and falls in love with Marius, who is wounded during a revolutionary fight. Valjean rescues Marius by means of a flight through the sewers of Paris. All seems headed for a happy ending until Javert shows up again and this leads to an incredible climax.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781469259772
ISBN-10: 146925977X
Abridged: Yes
Publisher: Classic Collection
Publication Date: December 4th, 2012
Language: English
Series: Classic Collection (Brilliance Audio)