The Renaissance of Gwen Hathaway (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Renaissance of Gwen Hathaway By Ashley Schumacher Cover Image
$20.00
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


Maddie and her father are trying to move forward after her mother's death. They continue to travel the ren faire circuit and arrive at her mom's favorite stop, only to learn that ownership has changed hands and nothing feels the same. Maddie finds herself roped into acting as the Princess of the Faire and becoming friends with Arthur, the son of the new owners. Maddie and Arthur spend their off days on road trips to obscure destinations, learning about themselves and each other. A charming, body-positive novel about moving through grief and accepting yourself and those around you. I loved it!

— Cathy

Description


"Ashley Schumacher's latest novel is a delightful read, with diverse characters and an irresistible setting. The Renaissance of Gwen Hathaway proves that there's no better place to find yourself than at a Renaissance Faire." - Jen Deluca, author of Well Met

Dumplin
' meets Well Met in this novel about finding your place in the world, learning love is a risk worth taking, and discovering what happens when you take your fate into your own hands.

Since her mother’s death, Madeline “Gwen” Hathaway has been determined that nothing in her life will change ever again. That’s why she keeps extensive lists in journals, has had only one friend since childhood, and looks forward to the monotony of working the ren faire circuit with her father. Until she arrives at her mother’s favorite end-of-tour stop to find the faire is under new management and completely changed.

Meeting Arthur, the son of the new owners and an actual lute-playing bard, messes up Maddie’s plans even more. For some reason, he wants to be her friend - and ropes her into becoming Princess of the Faire. Now Maddie is overseeing a faire dramatically changed from what her mother loved and going on road trips vastly different from the routine she used to rely on. Worst of all, she’s kind of having fun.

Ashley Schumacher's The Renaissance of Gwen Hathaway is filled with a wise old magician who sells potion bottles, gallant knights who are afraid of horses and ride camels instead, kings with a fondness for theatrics, a lazy river castle moat with inflatable crocodile floaties, and a plus-sized heroine with a wide open heart... if only she just admits it.

"Set in one of my favorite places in the world — a Renaissance Faire full of jousts, royalty, bards, and castles— this is a wise, beautiful, funny book with tremendous heart. I absolutely loved it." - Jamie Pacton, author of The Life and (Medieval) Times of Kit Sweetly and Lucky Girl

About the Author


Ashley Schumacher is the author of Amelia Unabridged and Full Flight and has a degree in creative writing from the University of North Texas. When she’s not reading or writing, she’s either singing Disney songs, finding new and exciting ways to pester her family, or trying to find her inside voice, which has been sadly missing since birth. She lives in a small town north of Dallas with her husband, son, and more books than is strictly necessary.

Praise For…


Praise for The Renaissance of Gwen Hathaway:

Buzzfeed, "31 Of The Most Anticipated Winter YA Books"

"A lively, gentle romance novel featuring two well-drawn main characters whose frequent verbal sparring reveals their wit and their vulnerabilities." - Booklist

"A welcome modern coming-of-age story about unfolding, letting go, and growing up...Readers will welcome this story about a leading lady who doesn’t have to be skinny to love herself or to be loved. A skillfully written and appealing romance with a powerful and refreshing message." - Kirkus Reviews

"Madeline and Arthur are irresistible romantic leads; their burgeoning feelings for each other and their mesmerizing chemistry, coupled with Madeline’s worries surrounding body image, grief, and her future, makes for a swoony, uplifting love story." - Publishers Weekly

"This exemplary romance, perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell, makes a cozy read for any season." - The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Ashley Schumacher's latest novel is a delightful read, with diverse characters and an irresistible setting. The Renaissance of Gwen Hathaway proves that there's no better place to find yourself than at a Renaissance Faire." - Jen Deluca, author of Well Met

"Set in one of my favorite places in the world — a Renaissance Faire full of jousts, royalty, bards, and castles — this is a wise, beautiful, funny book with tremendous heart. Schumacher treats all her characters with compassion and artfully blends a tale of deep grief with joy, reminding readers that magic is everywhere and that none of our stories are truly over, even when it might seem like it. I absolutely loved it." - Jamie Pacton, author of The Life and (Medieval) Times of Kit Sweetly and Lucky Girl

"With a cast of characters who stole my heart, The Renaissance of Gwen Hathaway is a wonderful exploration of grief, family, friendship, love, and fate. I was hooked from the first page and didn’t want it to end. This is the summer love story for fat girls that I wish I’d had as a teen." - Sarah Hollowell, author of A Dark and Starless Forest

"A swoon-worthy read about body positivity, fate and choice, re-discovering who you are in the wake of grief, and giving yourself permission to open your heart to love and tenderness." - Crystal Maldonado, award-winning author of Fat Chance, Charlie Vega and No Filter and Other Lies

Praise for Full Flight:

"Full Flight really does capture that flush of first love and the overpowering magnetism that can pull two teens together....an unabashed, heart-on-sleeve romance." - NPR

"Schumacher’s gorgeous writing immerses readers in the aching emotions of close friendship and first love... Told in alternating first-person perspectives, the narrative memorably portrays anxiety and depression without explicitly naming either, weaving these subjects into well-drawn everyday scenes. A powerful, unforgettable story of loneliness and belonging." - Kirkus, Starred Review

"If you like your books to leave you ugly crying in your car after just thinking about it, weeks after you've finished, then you need this book." - Buzzfeed, "40 New YA Books Releasing Before Spring That You'll Want To Get Your Hands On"

"From the author of one of 2021’s best young adult novels (Amelia, Unabridged) comes a lyrical tale of first love and tragedy in a high school marching band that will definitely leave you ugly crying by the end. Schumacher’s prose is lovely and her writing demonstrates an astute understanding of how to write emotion in ways that feel both immediate and real." - Paste Magazine, "Best New YA Books of February"

“A great young love story full of heart and sadness. You will root for these two to be together as you read along. Author Schumacher does a great job in detailing how the two characters feel and emote. These feelings can be just about anyone and you’re left thinking about it long after you’ve read it.” - Red Carpet Crash

"This heartbreaker definitely requires a box of tissues nearby, but it’s well-worth the journey!" - The Honey Pop, "Sweet Reads: Spread the Love with these February Book Releases"

“Full of humor, whimsy, and heartache, Full Flight explores the many notes of grief and love and the happiness found in the soft moments between. Schumacher’s sophomore novel punches you in the feels and I can’t wait for her to do it again.” - Ashley Poston, New York Times bestselling author of The Dead Romantics and Geekerella

“Schumacher composes a bittersweet symphony of heartbreak and self-awareness set to the wondrous lyrics of first love. The story of Anna and Weston will remain with me for the rest of my life.” - Erin Hahn, author of You'd Be Mine, More Than Maybe, and Never Saw You Coming

Praise for Amelia Unabridged:

"Already one of my favorite books of the year, this is one you'll toss at your book loving friends and quickly form your own lil book groups around." - Buzzfeed, "40 Contemporary Books We're Looking Forward To Reading In 2021"

“Ultimately a story of self-discovery offered up with the sweetness of wish-fulfillment romance, it’s a novel sure to please anyone who wants a story of love and reading.” - Bulletin for the Center of Children's Books

"Schumacher centers storytelling as a means of expression, connection, and keeping the dead alive in this emotionally immersive debut....Employing expressive prose that communicates the emotion and tumult that can accompany the death of a loved one at any age, Schumacher leaves characters—and readers—with a sense of hope." - Publishers Weekly

"Schumacher’s lovely debut will have romantics swooning over blonde-haired, blue-eyed Amelia and black-haired Nolan’s love story. These two teens have endured loss and family trauma, but both have found acceptance and family elsewhere, and bring out the best in each other. The novel is also an ode to the love of reading and how books can provide the magic and comfort needed during difficult times. Recommended for all YA collections." - School Library Journal

"A beautiful, quirky, and magical story about broody authors, best friendships, and the imaginary worlds we call home. With lyrical prose and a romance that'll sweep you off your feet, Ashley Schumacher makes you believe in the impossibility of happily ever afters." - Ashley Poston, New York Times bestselling author of The Dead Romantics and Geekerella

“Schumacher wrote a glittering love letter of a debut, aimed at the hearts and souls of book worms everywhere. The layered and complex stories shared by sweet Amelia and revised by the enigmatic Nolan, broke my heart and bound it back together once more, sealed with a perfect kiss.” - Erin Hahn, author of You’d Be Mine, More Than Maybe, and Never Saw You Coming



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250840240
ISBN-10: 1250840244
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Publication Date: March 14th, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English