Call Your Daughter Home (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Call Your Daughter Home Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of May 16 4:30am
(FICTION--GENERAL)

Staff Reviews


Three amazing narrators populate this southern tale of sadness, love, redemption, and revenge. Annie is the matriarch of the wealthiest family in Branchville but she is saddened by losing one child to suicide and her two daughters to an unknown rift. Rhetta is her African American cook, inheriting the job from her mother. Rhetta has also lost a child. It's the third narrator who will grab your heart-Gertrude. In an abusive marriage with five girls to care for, she takes matters into her own hands. Sometimes a well aimed gun will save your life.

— Valerie

Description


"Like Jill McCorkle and Sue Monk Kidd, Spera probes the comfort and strength women find in their own company."
-- O, The Oprah Magazine

"A mesmerizing Southern tale...Authentic, gripping, a page-turner, yet also a novel filled with language that begs to be savored."
-- Lisa Wingate, New York Times Bestselling Author of Before We Were Yours

For readers of Delia Owens' Where the Crawdads Sing and Sue Monk Kidd's The Secret Life of Bees, this extraordinary historical debut novel follows three fierce and unforgettable Southern women.

It's 1924 in Branchville, South Carolina and Gertrude, a mother of four, must make an unconscionable decision to keep her daughters safe.
Retta, who works for the Coles family, comes to Gertrude's aid by watching her children, despite the gossip it causes in her community. Annie, the matriarch of the influential Coles family, offers Gertrude employment at her sewing circle, while facing problems of her own at home.

These three women seemingly have nothing in common, yet as they unite to stand up to injustices that have long plagued their small town, they find strength in the bond that ties women together. Told in the pitch-perfect voices of Gertrude, Retta, and Annie, Call Your Daughter Home is an emotional, timeless story about the power of family, community, and ferocity of motherhood.




Product Details
ISBN: 9780778309796
ISBN-10: 0778309797
Publisher: Park Row
Publication Date: April 7th, 2020
Pages: 384
Language: English