Call Your Daughter Home (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Call Your Daughter Home Cover Image
$26.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Nov 10 7:40pm
(FICTION--GENERAL)

Staff Reviews


Three amazing narrators populate this southern tale of sadness, love, redemption, and revenge. Annie is the matriarch of the wealthiest family in Branchville but she is saddened by losing one child to suicide and her two daughters to an unknown rift. Rhetta is her African American cook, inheriting the job from her mother. Rhetta has also lost a child. It's the third narrator who will grab your heart-Gertrude. In an abusive marriage with five girls to care for, she takes matters into her own hands. Sometimes a well aimed gun will save your life.

— Valerie

Description


Amazon July Best of the Month Pick

"Like Jill McCorkle and Sue Monk Kidd, Spera probes the comfort and strength women find in their own company."-- O Magazine

For readers of Delia Owens' Where the Crawdads Sing and Sue Monk Kidd's The Secret Life of Bees, this extraordinary historical debut novel follows three fierce Southern women in an unforgettable story of motherhood and womanhood.

It's 1924 in Branchville, South Carolina and three women have come to a crossroads. Gertrude, a mother of four, must make an unconscionable decision to save her daughters. Retta, a first-generation freed slave, comes to Gertrude's aid by watching her children, despite the gossip it causes in her community. Annie, the matriarch of the influential Coles family, offers Gertrude employment at her sewing circle, while facing problems of her own at home.

These three women seemingly have nothing in common, yet as they unite to stand up to injustices that have long plagued the small town, they find strength in the bond that ties women together. Told in the pitch-perfect voices of Gertrude, Retta, and Annie, Call Your Daughter Home is an emotional, timeless story about the power of family, community, and ferocity of motherhood.

"A mesmerizing Southern tale...Authentic, gripping, a page-turner, yet also a novel filled with language that begs to be savored."-- Lisa Wingate, New York Times Bestselling Author of Before We Were Yours

"Deb Spera is a master of voice, a master of deep-diving access to the roiling depths of human identity...An exhilarating and important book."
-- Robert Olen Butler, Pulitzer Prize winning author of A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain


Product Details
ISBN: 9780778307747
ISBN-10: 0778307743
Publisher: Park Row
Publication Date: June 11th, 2019
Pages: 352
Language: English