The Immortalists (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Immortalists Cover Image
$26.00
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Jun 21 2:45am
(FICTION--GENERAL)

Staff Reviews


Close siblings are just that their whole life.  As kids, the four Gold children go to a fortune teller and learn the dates of their deaths.  What would you do if you knew when you were going to die?  Each sibling lives out their lives with intention-except when messy lives get in the way. Follow Simon to San Francisco in the early 80's as the AIDS epidemic begins. Klara becomes a magician, Daniel a doctor, and with a wonderful human/animal story at the end, Varya lives the longest with the most regrets. This will make a great bookclub discussion as you follow each path to fulfillment.

— Valerie

Description


INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"A captivating family saga."--The New York Times Book Review

"You won't be able to put it down."--The Skimm (Skimm Reads Pick)

"This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt."--People Magazine (Book of the Week)

"A sprawling, enchanting family saga."--Entertainment Weekly (The Must List)

A dazzling family love story reminiscent of Everything I Never Told You from a novelist heralded by Lorrie Moore as a "great new talent."

If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?

It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children--four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness--sneak out to hear their fortunes.

The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.

A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.

About the Author


Chloe Benjamin is the author of the New York Times bestseller The Immortalists. Her first novel, The Anatomy of Dreams, received the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award and was long listed for the 2014 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize. She is a graduate of Vassar College and the M.F.A. in fiction at the University of Wisconsin. She lives with her husband in Madison, WI.


Product Details
ISBN: 9780735213180
ISBN-10: 0735213186
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Publication Date: January 9th, 2018
Pages: 352
Language: English