Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes Cover Image
$26.00
On Our Shelves Now
4 on hand, as of Sep 25 3:45am
(FICTION--GENERAL)

Staff Reviews


Welcome to the privileged bubble of Liston Heights High. When a devoted teacher comes under pressure for her progressive curriculum and a helicopter mom goes viral on social media, two women at odds find themselves in similar predicaments, having to battle back from certain social ruin. Liston Heights High is full of micromanaging parents, overworked teachers, and kids caught in the middle. After the school play is cast and a beloved teacher is accused of an anti-American agenda in her classroom, what ensues is a story of how entitlement and competition can go too far and what happens when that bubble finally bursts.

— Lesley

Description


Perfect for fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Small Admissions, a wry and cleverly observed debut novel about the privileged bubble that is Liston Heights High—the micro-managing parents, the overworked teachers, and the students caught in the middle—and the fallout for each of them when the bubble finally bursts.

When a devoted teacher comes under pressure for her progressive curriculum and a helicopter mom goes viral on social media, two women at odds with each other find themselves in similar predicaments, having to battle back from certain social ruin.
 
Isobel Johnson has spent her career in Liston Heights sidestepping the community’s high-powered families. But when she receives a threatening voicemail accusing her of Anti-Americanism and a liberal agenda, she’s in the spotlight. Meanwhile, Julia Abbott, obsessed with the casting of the school’s winter musical, makes an error in judgment that has far-reaching consequences for her entire family.
 
Brought together by the sting of public humiliation, Isobel and Julia learn firsthand how entitlement and competition can go too far, thanks to a secret Facebook page created as an outlet for parent grievances. The Liston Heights High student body will need more than a strong sense of school spirit to move past these campus dramas in an engrossing debut novel that addresses parents behaving badly and teenagers speaking up, even against their own families.

About the Author


Kathleen West is a veteran middle and high-school teacher. She graduated with a degree in English from Macalester College and holds a Master's degree in literacy education from the University of Minnesota. She lives in Minneapolis with her hilarious husband, two sporty sons, and very bad goldendoodle.

Praise For…


"A wry, engaging debut."--People magazine, on Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes

More praise for Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes

"Just as good as Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies."--Kirkus (starred review)

"Fans of Where'd You Go Bernadette will flip for this clever, drama filled debut novel."--Woman's World

"A smart and delightful story of entitlement, friendship, and overparenting, with page-turning twists galore. West writes across lines of class and generation with grace and ease. A big-hearted debut."--Bruce Holsinger, author of The Gifted School

"As intriguing as it is timely. West provides a funny and shocking glimpse into American parenting through the lens of an out-of-control stage mother who has lost all sense of boundaries."--Amy Poeppel, author of Limelight

"A cutting and witty examination of modern parenting that excels in suburban relatability, West's debut novel will pique the curiosity of fans of Maria Semple's Where'd You Go, Bernadette."--Booklist

"Helicopter parenting and high school politics at their worst--and funniest. A smart, fast-paced, and deliciously entertaining debut!"--Meg Donohue, USA Today bestselling author of You, Me, and The Sea


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593098400
ISBN-10: 0593098404
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: February 4th, 2020
Pages: 384