What Stays Buried (Hardcover)

What Stays Buried By Suzanne Young Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Apr 16 8:44am
(CHILDREN JUV NOVELS)

Description


A Bram Stoker Award nominee! In her first book for middle grade readers, New York Times bestselling author Suzanne Young brings together a thrilling ghost story, a heartfelt coming of age journey, and a poignant reminder that those we’ve loved and lost are never far away—perfect for fans of Bone Hollow and The Peculiar Incident on Shady Street.

Twelve-year-old Calista Wynn will lose her ability to speak with the dead on her thirteenth birthday.

And with only a few weeks left, children have started going missing.

When Calista meets the Tall Lady—an angry spirit with a grudge against Calista, her family, and the entire town—she knows she’s found the ghost responsible for the disappearances.

It’s up to Calista, the only one who can see the Tall Lady, to stop her. If she doesn’t, Calista won’t just lose her powers…she’ll lose everyone she has left.

About the Author


Suzanne Young is the New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of the Program series. Originally from New York, Suzanne is a dual US and Italian citizen, currently living in the Veneto region of Italy with her family. She has published more than twenty novels, including the Program series, Girls with Sharp Sticks series, In Nightfall, and her middle grade debut, What Stays Buried. When not writing, Suzanne is the founder of Writing in Italy—an Italian retreat and tour company. Follow Suzanne and her three photogenic dogs on Instagram at @authorsuzanneyoung.

Praise For…


"What Stays Buried is a gripping ghost story full of vivid characters, heartache, wonder, love, and hope. Haunting in all the best ways!" — Lisa McMann, NYT bestselling author of The Unwanteds and The Forgotten Five: Map of Flames

"An exciting, well-paced, and well-structured plot." — Kirkus Reviews

"The novel shows strong family bonds across generations and worlds, while overarching themes of the power of love, family, and friendship make this a solid entry into horror for adventurous readers. Well-developed protagonist and solid plotting." — School Library Journal

"A high-stakes, fast-moving ghost story. Young employs spine-tingling horror tropes to drum up suspense. A consequential magic system facilitates explorations of grief and closure after loss." — Publishers Weekly

"This horror-saturated fantasy delivers a heart palpitating adventure." — Booklist



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063257122
ISBN-10: 0063257122
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: March 7th, 2023
Pages: 272
Language: English