My Plain Jane (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
My Plain Jane Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Aug 17 3:31am
(CHILDREN TEEN READS)

Staff Reviews


Fans of My Lady Jane will rejoice at another addition to this witty, hilarious series. You may know the story of Jane Eyre, but this version includes ghosts, a royal order intent on managing them, and aspiring author Charlotte Bronte herself as a character. A fun, lighthearted parody of a well-known classic.

— Madeline

Summer 2018 Kids Indie Next List


“A stunningly imagined version of pre-Victorian England, complete with charming ghosts, combines with timeless, laugh-out-loud humor in this retelling of Jane Eyre. This book is a breath of fresh air in the teen genre, with strong heroines, an irresistible yet complex plot, a light smattering of romance, and a gleeful—yet tasteful—abandonment of the fourth wall. I would recommend this book to anyone who is tired of predictable plot twists, cliffhangers, and endings and is looking for a rollicking adventure through a quasi-historically accurate rendition of Jane Eyre’s England (with ghosts added, of course).”
— Annika Pfister, Petunia’s Place Bookstore, Fresno, CA

Description


Move over, Charlotte Brontë. The authors of the New York Times bestselling My Lady Jane are back with an irreverent spin on Jane Eyre—a tale of mischief, romance, and supernatural mayhem perfect for fans of The Princess Bride or A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.

You may think you know the story. Penniless orphan Jane Eyre begins a new life as a governess at Thornfield Hall, where she meets one dark, brooding Mr. Rochester—and, Reader, she marries him. Or does she?

Prepare for an adventure of Gothic proportions, in which all is not as it seems, a certain gentleman is hiding more than skeletons in his closets, and one orphan Jane Eyre, aspiring author Charlotte Bronte, and supernatural investigator Alexander Blackwood are about to be drawn together on the most epic ghost hunt this side of Wuthering Heights.

About the Author


Cynthia Hand is the New York Times bestselling author of the Unearthly trilogy, The Last Time We Say Goodbye, and My Lady Jane (with Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows). Before turning to writing for young adults, Cynthia studied literary fiction, and earned both an MFA and a PhD in fiction writing. She currently resides in Idaho, where she teaches creative writing at Boise State University. Visit her online at www.cynthiahandbooks.com.



BRODI ASHTON is also the author of Everneath, a VOYA Perfect 10 for 2011; Everbound; and Evertrue; and the coauthor, with Cynthia Hand and Jodi Meadows, of My Lady Jane. She received a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Utah and a master’s degree in international relations from the London School of Economics. Brodi lives in Utah with her family. You can visit her online at www.brodiashton.blogspot.com



Jodi Meadows wants to be a ferret when she grows up and she has no self-control when it comes to yarn, ink, or outer space. Still, she manages to write books. She is the author of the Incarnate trilogy, the Orphan Queen duology, and the Fallen Isles trilogy and coauthor of the New York Times bestseller My Lady Jane. Visit her at www.jodimeadows.com.

Praise For…


★ “Holds all the flavor of a juicy period novel yet with the addition of numerous, witty asides. Full of wry humor and laugh-out-loud commentary. The authors’ affection for their source material is abundantly clear in this clever, romantic farce.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

★ “A delightfully deadpan deconstruction of a Gothic novel, with a ghost almost no one can see providing the commentary. Marvelously self-aware and almost too clever for its own good.”
— Booklist (starred review)

★ “A madcap story of ghosts, possession, revenge, and murder. Humorously blends fact with fiction and offers a gentler, more hopeful outcome for Charlotte, her siblings, and her heroine.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“Reader, it delighted. A fun, supernatural mashup of different literary novels that shines on its own merit.”
— Kirkus Reviews

PRAISE FOR MY LADY JANE: ★ “Wacky, irreverent, and just plain fun. This fantasy-adventure politely tips its hat to history before joyfully punting it out of the way. An utter delight.”
— Booklist (starred review)

★ “An uproarious historical fantasy that’s not to be missed.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Gleefully anachronistic comedy.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Three cheers for this well-written and rollicking revision of history full of timely mannerisms and bold adventure. Those who enjoy clever humor, colorful fantasy, and light romance will savor each page.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“The Tudors meets Monty Python. Prepare to laugh and gasp and clutch your pearls.”
— Tahereh Mafi, New York Times bestselling author of the Shatter Me series

“History, humor, and unexpected magic come together in this marvelous story.”
— Jessica Day George, author of Silver in the Blood

“Adventure, intrigue, humor, and romance abound. A great choice for those who enjoy lighthearted, alternative history adventures.”
— School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062652775
ISBN-10: 006265277X
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: June 26th, 2018
Pages: 464
Language: English