Cece Loves Science and Adventure (Hardcover)

Cece Loves Science and Adventure Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Cece Loves Science series.


Description


“Smart girls, friendship, and fun: a winning combination.” —Kirkus

“A wonderful book.” —School Library Journal

Cece loves science and adventure!

In this STEM-themed Girls in Science picture book, Cece and her Adventure Girls troop use science, technology, engineering, and math to solve problems and earn their camping pin. Illustrated by New York Times–bestseller Vashti Harrison, Cece Loves Science and Adventure is perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and anyone who enjoys asking questions and figuring out how things work.

Cece loves being an Adventure Girl almost as much as she loves science, which is why she can’t wait for her troop’s camping trip. Nature is full of science for Cece to explore!

Along with her friends, her mom, and her dog, Einstein, Cece learns how to pitch a tent, set up a campsite, and document landmarks on the trail. Then thunder booms in the distance! Working together, the girls use meteorology and math to determine the location of the storm; engineering to build a shelter; and technology and math to calculate the length of the trek back to the campsite. After all that teamwork, Cece’s mom gives them an Adventure Girl surprise!

Illustrated by Vashti Harrison, author and illustrator of the New York Times–bestselling Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black HistoryCece Loves Science and Adventure is just right for curious kids and anyone who loves to explore the great outdoors. 

Includes a glossary.

About the Author


Kimberly Derting is the author of the Cece Loves Science series, the Body Finder series, the Pledge trilogy, and the Taking series. She lives in the Pacific Northwest, where the gloomy weather is ideal for writing anything dark and creepy. Her three beautiful (and often mouthy) children serve as an endless source of inspiration and frequently find things they say buried in the pages of their mother’s books. You can visit her online at www.kimberlyderting.com.



Vashti Harrison is the author-artist of the New York Times bestselling Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History and the artist of the Cece Loves Science series. She earned her MFA in Film/Video from CalArts and BA from the University of Virginia. Her experimental films and documentaries have been shown around the world at film festivals. She lives in Brooklyn, NY.



Shelli R. Johannes (AKA Sassy Sparklepants) is secretly a unicorn who celebrates with gobs of glitter, overuses rainbow sprinkles, and creates magical children’s books that inspire kids to show off their shine. Her books include the popular Cece Loves Science titles. Shelli lives in Atlanta, Georgia, with her husband and two kids. Visit her online at www.srjohannes.com.

Praise For…


“Smart girls, friendship, and fun: a winning combination.”
Kirkus Reviews


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062499622
ISBN-10: 0062499629
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: June 4th, 2019
Pages: 40
Language: English
Series: Cece Loves Science