Places to Be (Hardcover)

Places to Be Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Renata Liwska (Illustrator)
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


From the award-winning, bestselling Mac Barnett and Renata Liwska comes a classic and luminous book perfect for fans of The Quiet Book by Deborah Underwood and Waiting by Kevin Henkes.

With an elegant simplicity, this picture book celebrates all our wide-ranging emotions—and the adventures that await us each day.

We have so many places to be!

Places to be loud

and lovely

and scared

and jubilant.

 

Praise For…


“Funny and gentle”

“This winning read-aloud can be used to encourage friendship in young children.”

“A sweet and gentle contrast to Seuss’ Oh, the Places You’ll Go!”

Praise for EXTRA YARN: “Understated illustrations and prose seamlessly construct an enchanting and mysterious tale.”

Praise for EXTRA YARN: “Klassen’s deadpan, stylized illustrations impeccably complement Barnett’s quirky droll writing.”

Praise for EXTRA YARN: “There’s nothing to say but perfect.”

Praise for SAM AND DAVE DIG A HOLE: “A clever second collaboration between Barnett and Klassen...The prose is deadpan; the joke’s all in Klassen’s winsomely smudgy illustrations.”

Praise for SAM AND DAVE DIG A HOLE: “”Mind-blowing in the best possible way.”

Praise for SAM AND DAVE DIG A HOLE: “Barnett’s comic voice is at its driest as he recounts that quintessential American childhood activity—the digging of the giant hole.”

Praise for LEO: A GHOST STORY: “A tender, touching story of friendship and the power of imagination.”

Praise for LEO: A GHOST STORY: “A warm and wise story about acceptance trumping difference.”

Praise for LEO: A GHOST STORY: “A whimsical tale from Barnett aptly accompanied by enthralling artwork by Robinson.”

Praise for LEO: A GHOST STORY: “Dazzling.”

Praise for THE SKUNK: “Gives off a deliciously Hitchockian air of high style and deep-seated dread. . . a story that speaks to the urbane existentialist/absurdist lurking in the heart of every reader.”

Praise for THE SKUNK: “Clever visual motifs, sly storytelling, and tight pacing make this a picture book that will be enjoyed by both children and their grown-ups.”

Praise for THE SKUNK: “McDonnell’s graceful and simple cartoonlike illustrations mitigate the notes of paranoia and obsession in Barnett’s deadpan text.”

Praise for THE SKUNK: “A daffy yet stylish readaloud with surprising performance possibilities.”


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062286215
ISBN-10: 0062286218
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: April 4th, 2017
Pages: 32
Language: English