June is Audiobook Month! Staff Favorites from Libro.fm

Did you know that June is audiobook month? How about that audiobook purchases can support local, independent bookstores like yours truly? That’s right—our audiobook partner, Libro.fm, partners with and supports over 500 independent bookstores around the country. Which means that you can enjoy à la carte listening or a monthly audiobook subscription all while supporting your community and keeping more of your money in the local economy—instead of funding a certain someone’s self-indulgent ten-minute trip to not-quite-space.

If you think all of this sounds like cause for celebration, well, you’re not wrong. So we’ve created a list of staff recommendations featuring great recently-released audiobooks to help kickstart your summer of listening. Enjoy!


Fiction

We Begin at the End by Chris Whitaker; narrated by George Newbern

“This beautiful, multi-layered story of painful loss breathes forgiveness and love. Each character brings a different weight to this well-balanced novel. You will cringe, laugh and cry while listening to this extraordinary book. A winner that ripples out far and wide.”

Recommended by: Liz

Length: 10 hours 30 minutes

The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner; narrated by Lorna Bennett, Lauren Anthony & Lauren Irwin

“Flashing back and forth between two intriguing timelines, this novel of rebellion, loyalty and betrayal intertwines beautifully. A suspenseful and gratifying read!”

Recommended by: Liz

Length: 10 hours 17 minutes

The Survivors by Jane Harper; narrated by Stephen Shanahan

“Confronted by the ghosts of his past, Kieran Elliot has to decide whether a new mystery has something—or someone—in common with the long-ago tragedy that haunts him. There are many possible suspects and Harper strings them all along in a satisfying way for mystery lovers.”

Recommended by: Valerie

Length: 11 hours 56 minutes

While Justice Sleeps by Stacey Abrams; narrated by Adenrele Ojo & Stacey Abrams

“For fans of John Grisham, Stacey Abrams delivers a first-class political thriller with a whip-smart heroine in Avery Keane. Murders, kidnappings, wiretapping, and more…. Highly recommended for a fast-paced summer read.”

Recommended by: Valerie

Length: 14 hours 54 minutes

One Two Three by Laurie Frankel; narrated by Emma Galvin, Jesse Vilinsky & Rebecca Soler

“An honest novel telling the life of a set of teenage triplets, Mab, Monday, and Mirabel who live with their single mom, Nora, in small-town Bourne, where a former chemical plant left a devastating impact. A well-written storyline that is filled with authentic characters and a strong sense of inclusivity. Laurie Frankel's stories have heart and this one really shines!”

Recommended by: Liz

Length: 14 hours 58 minutes

Nonfiction

Braiding Sweetgrass by Robin Wall Kimmerer; narrated by Robin Wall Kimmerer

“Both a call to action and a beautiful ode to nature, Potawatomi author and botanist Robin Kimmerer urges us to listen to the call for preservation of lands, trees, and water. Through her work as a botanist, she has experienced both the science and religion of work in the field. Not to be taken in a gulp, but to be listened to quietly, slowly, and with intention.”

Recommended by: Valerie

Length: 16 hours 44 minutes

Four Hundred Souls by Ibram X. Kendi & Keisha N. Blain; narrated by Various

“Kendi and Blain edited essays, poems, and stories to enlighten the reader about Black American history, so woefully unwritten in most textbooks. Each section covers five years. The stories are powerful and, most of the time, heartbreaking. The audiobook was read by a full cast of readers, which made it very engaging.”

Recommended by: Valerie

Length: 14 hours 1 minute 

Broken (in the best possible way) by Jenny Lawson; narrated by Jenny Lawson

“Lawson’s fans adore her for her wit, her humanity, and the sheer number of (often hilarious but also often heartbreaking) issues she experiences on a seemingly endless basis. Please do yourself a favor and listen to the audiobook version, which Jenny Lawson reads herself. It’s like listening to a really nutty friend tell you lots of her zaniest stories. Laugh-out-loud funny and deeply human. Highly recommended.”

Recommended by: Jennifer K.

Length: 8 hours 18 minutes

The Anthropocene Reviewed by John Green; narrated by John Green

“Based on John Green's popular podcast, this essay collection contains reflections on everything from Diet Dr. Pepper to the QWERTY keyboard to Canada geese. Each essay is full of Green's signature close observation, humor and poignant reflection. Listen in one giant gulp or one essay at a time—you won't regret it!”

Recommended by: Cathy

Length: 10 hours 3 minutes

On Juneteenth by Annette Gordon-Reed; narrated by Karen Chilton

“A lovely book of essays—part history, part memoir—about Juneteenth, growing up in Conroe, and the continued racism that Black Americans face. Pulitzer Prize-winning historian Annette Gordon-Reed was one of the first Black children in an all-white school in the seventies. Her love of Texas with all of its complicated parts shines here. Recommended for all Americans, and especially for Texans.”

Recommended by: Valerie

Length: 3 hours 44 minutes