Books to Celebrate Grads & Dads

June is a month of celebrations, friends, and we’re here to remind you that books make the best gifts. So we’ve compiled a list of recommendations to help you celebrate the grad or dad in your life. Whether you’re seeking inspiration, words of wisdom, or just a bunch of cute animals to lift the spirits, you’ll find it in our grad section below. Scroll a little further, and you’ll come across a collection of dad-tested, dad-approved titles in fiction and non. Did we mention that we gift wrap? Oh, the places you’ll go… now that you have your gift-giving sorted out.


 

Books: 
Staff Pick Badge
The Hero Code: Lessons Learned from Lives Well Lived Cover Image
$22.00
ISBN: 9781538719961
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - April 13th, 2021

“An inspirational reflection on the qualities that make people everyday heroes, from the bestselling author of Make Your Bed.”

 


Dear Grad: Words of Wisdom and Encouragement for Your Next Journey Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780593240168
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarkson Potter - April 27th, 2021

“A collection of timely advice from the YouTube Originals “Dear Class of 2020” virtual commencement celebration. Page through for words of encouragement from Michelle Obama, Malala Yousafzai, Stephen Colbert, Alicia Keys, Tom Hanks, and more.”

 


Staff Pick Badge
The Anthropocene Reviewed (Signed Edition): Essays on a Human-Centered Planet Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525555216
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton - May 18th, 2021

“Based on John Green's popular podcast, this essay collection contains reflections on everything from Diet Dr. Pepper to the QWERTY keyboard to Canada geese. Each essay is full of Green's signature close observation, humor and poignant reflection. Listen or read in one giant gulp or one essay at a time—you won't regret it!”

 


WOLFPACK: How to Come Together, Unleash Our Power, and Change the Game Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781250217707
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Celadon Books - April 9th, 2019

“Adapted from Wambach’s viral commencement speech to Barnard College. Abby has fleshed out the material into an inspirational book that will be the perfect graduation gift this spring! The prose is straightforward and the message is powerful.”

 


This Book Is Literally Just Pictures of Cute Animals That Will Make You Feel Better Cover Image
By Smith Street Books (Editor)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781925811186
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Smith Street Books - September 3rd, 2019

“Hey, what can we say? After a rough test or a lonely day on a new campus, sometimes the best thing to do is to look at page after page of cute animal pics.”

 


Staff Pick Badge
Raft of Stars: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780063031906
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - March 23rd, 2021

“Claypot, Wisconsin 1994. Fish and Bread are fast friends, riding bikes, saving turtles. At the beginning of this intriguing and suspenseful story, Fish shoots Bread's father and they both run. The boys build a raft to escape by water but they are unaware that there is a raging waterfall in their future. There is love, rage, regret, and tenderness. And a little humor.”

 


While Justice Sleeps Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780385546577
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday Books - May 11th, 2021

“For fans of John Grisham, Stacey Abrams delivers a first-class political thriller with a whip smart heroine in Avery Keane. Murders, kidnappings, wiretapping, and more. Highly recommended for a fast paced summer read.”

 


Staff Pick Badge
The Thousand Crimes of Ming Tsu Cover Image
By Tom Lin
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316542159
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - June 1st, 2021

“This is a Western, but a Western with something extra. When the story opens in 1869, Ming Tsu has recently escaped from a railroad chain gang. Now he is on a mission to take revenge on all the people who participated in kidnapping his wife and convicting him of miscegenation. As in many good Westerns, the protagonist is at heart a good guy in the pursuit of justice. Recommended.”

 


Mercury Rising: John Glenn, John Kennedy, and the New Battleground of the Cold War Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9781324003243
Availability: Usually Ships in 4-7 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - June 1st, 2021

“Shesol vividly tells the story of the Friendship 7, a John Glenn-piloted flight that swung the momentum in the space race back towards the United States and helped chart our course to the moon. A riveting new perspective on familiar players and events.”

 


Staff Pick Badge
Robert E. Lee and Me: A Southerner's Reckoning with the Myth of the Lost Cause Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250239266
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - January 26th, 2021

“West Point historian and southerner Ty Seidule delves into the myth of the Lost Cause and his own relationship with Robert E. Lee. He posits that we still have a long way to go to truly understand that the Confederate states needed and wanted slavery. And that Lee, a US Army colonel, is a traitor to his country and his oath.”

 


Things My Son Needs to Know about the World Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781501196867
Availability: Usually Ships in 4-7 Days
Published: Atria Books - May 7th, 2019

 

“An irresistible collection of essays on fatherhood that will alternately move you, delight you, and give you food for thought.”

 


The Code Breaker: Jennifer Doudna, Gene Editing, and the Future of the Human Race Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781982115852
Availability: Usually Ships in 4-7 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - March 9th, 2021

“A fascinating look at the development of the CRISPR gene editing technology from one of our best nonfiction storytellers. An excellent choice for the Science Dad in your life.”