2024-2025 Texas Bluebonnet Award Master List

We're very happy to share the 2024-2025 Texas Bluebonnet Award Master List, "one of the most distinguished children’s literature lists in the country."

Our bookshop is proud to celebrate children's literature by sharing it with our community each day. Browse these excellent books and come by for personalized recommendations, too — we are always discovering fantastic new books for young readers, and we love nothing more than helping a reader find The Right Book.

Caves By Nell Cross Beckerman, Kalen Chock (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Nell Cross Beckerman, Kalen Chock (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781338726626
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orchard Books - October 4th, 2022

A masterful exploration of one of nature's most curious ecosystems, Caves is a magical journey into subterranean wonders perfect for fans of Jason Chin.

In the shade of the woods is a hill with a hole. Beaconing black. Goosebump chills. Excitement and fear battle. What will win? You want to go in...


The Cursed Moon By Angela Cervantes Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338814019
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - September 5th, 2023

Celebrated author Angela Cervantes' brand new novel combines a chilling ghost story with her award-winning, heartfelt storytelling style.

One two, the Caretaker’s coming for you. Three-four, you’ll breathe no more. Five-six, you’ll float like sticks. Seven, eight, you’ll meet your fate.

Rafael Fuentes isn’t easily scared.


Daybreak on Raven Island By Fleur Bradley Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593404645
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 22nd, 2023

From the critically acclaimed author of Midnight at the Barclay Hotel comes a thrilling new middle grade mystery novel inspired by Alcatraz Prison.


The Ghost of Spruce Point By Nancy Tandon Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781534486126
Availability: Usually Ships in 4-7 Days
Published: Aladdin - August 1st, 2023

A young boy must unravel a curse to save his family’s beloved Maine motel in this spooky, “tightly paced” (Publishers Weekly) middle grade novel sure to delight fans of Whispering Pines and The Peculiar Incident on Shady Street!

Twelve-year-old Parker has grown up in his family’s Home Away Inn, nestled on a wooded peninsula in Maine


How to Stay Invisible By Maggie C. Rudd Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780374390334
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - June 27th, 2023

My Side of the Mountain meets How to Steal a Dog in this high-stakes and heartfelt middle-grade story of a young boy and his dog surviving on their own in the woods.

Being alone is something Raymond is used to.


Ice Cream Man: How Augustus Jackson Made a Sweet Treat Better By Glenda Armand, Kim Freeman, Keith Mallett (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593563229
Availability: Usually Ships in 4-7 Days
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 17th, 2023

Discover the inspiring story of Augustus Jackson, an African American entrepreneur who is known as "the father of ice cream," in this beautifully illustrated picture-book biography.


Jovita Wore Pants: The Story of a Mexican Freedom Fighter By Aida Salazar, Molly Mendoza (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Aida Salazar, Molly Mendoza (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781338283419
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - March 7th, 2023

**A CALDECOTT HONOR BOOK**

The remarkable true story of Jovita Valdovinos, a Mexican revolutionary who disguised herself as a man to fight for her rights!

* “Graceful . . deft . . . mesmerizing. . . .


Ketanji: Justice Jackson's Journey to the U.S. Supreme Court By Kekla Magoon, Laura Freeman (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kekla Magoon, Laura Freeman (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063296169
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - June 20th, 2023

From two Coretta Scott King Honor winners comes this uplifting picture book biography about Ketanji Brown Jackson, who is making history as the first Black woman to serve as a Supreme Court Justice.


Staff Pick Badge
The Guardian Test (Legends of Lotus Island #1) By Christina Soontornvat, Kevin Hong (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Christina Soontornvat, Kevin Hong (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781338759150
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - March 7th, 2023

From three-time Newbery honor recipient Christina Soontornvat comes a compelling new young middle grade fantasy series for readers who love stories about animals, magic, and kids like them embracing their power to change the world.

Young Plum is shocked to discover that she’s been accepted to the Guardian Academy on Lotus Island, an elite school where kids learn how to transform in


The Mystery of the Monarchs: How Kids, Teachers, and Butterfly Fans Helped Fred and Norah Urquhart Track the Great Monarch Migration By Barb Rosenstock, Erika Meza (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Barb Rosenstock, Erika Meza (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984829566
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - May 31st, 2022

A gorgeous picture book based on the true story of a scientist who solves the mysteries of monarch butterfly migration—with the help of schoolchildren! A perfect story for nature lovers of all ages from the Caldecott Honor winning author of The Noisy Paint Box


New Dragon City By Mari Mancusi Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316376686
Availability: Usually Ships in 4-7 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 4th, 2022

Set off on a high-stakes, action-packed adventure in this story about friendship, survival, and fighting for ones you love, perfect for fans of Wings of Fire and How to Train Your Dragon

No one predicted the dragon apocalypse. The dragons came suddenly and decimated the world as we knew it, including New York City.


Staff Pick Badge
Odder By Katherine Applegate, Charles Santoso (Illustrator) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250147424
Availability: Usually Ships in 4-7 Days
Published: Feiwel & Friends - September 20th, 2022

Now a #1 New York Times bestseller! A touching and lyrical tale about a remarkable sea otter, from Newbery Medalist Katherine Applegate, author of Wishtree.

Meet Odder, the Queen of Play:

Nobody has her moves.
She doesn’t just swim to the bottom,
she dive-bombs.
She doesn’t just somersault,


Staff Pick Badge
A Rover's Story By Jasmine Warga Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063113923
Availability: Usually Ships in 4-7 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 4th, 2022

#1 New York Times bestseller * Best Book of the Year from The Washington Post, Publishers Weekly, New York Public Library, Chicago Public Library


Shermy and Shake, the Not So Nice Neighbor By Kirby Larson, Shinji Fujioka (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kirby Larson, Shinji Fujioka (Illustrator)
$15.99
ISBN: 9781536219425
Availability: Usually Ships in 4-7 Days
Published: Candlewick - May 9th, 2023

Will summer break be a drag or a blast for meticulous Shermy when rambunctious Shake moves in next door? From Newbery Honor recipient Kirby Larson comes a bighearted chapter book about two boys’ friendship.


Staff Pick Badge
Something Like Home By Andrea Beatriz Arango Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593566183
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - September 12th, 2023

A moving novel in verse in which a lost dog helps a lonely girl find a way home to her family . . . only for them to find family in each other along the way. From the Newbery Honor Award-winning author of Iveliz Explains It All.

“Trust me: this book will touch your heart." —Barbara O’Connor, New York Times bestselling author of Wish


Stars of the Night: The Courageous Children of the Czech Kindertransport By Caren Stelson, Selina Alko (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Caren Stelson, Selina Alko (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781541598683
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Carolrhoda Books (R) - February 7th, 2023

"A not-to-be-missed, inspirational book about courage, heart, and the necessity of caring for others."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)


Two Tribes By Emily Bowen Cohen, Emily Bowen Cohen (Illustrator) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062983589
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Heartdrum - August 15th, 2023

In her poignant debut graphic novel inspired by her own life, Emily Bowen Cohen embraces the complexity, meaning, and deep love that comes from being part of two vibrant tribes.


Staff Pick Badge
You Are Here: Connecting Flights By Ellen Oh Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063239081
Availability: Usually Ships in 4-7 Days
Published: Allida - March 7th, 2023

A powerful and engaging exploration of contemporary Asian American identity through interwoven stories set in a teeming Chicago airport, written by award-winning and bestselling East and Southeast Asian American authors including Linda Sue Park, Grace Lin, Erin Entrada Kelly, Traci Chee, and Ellen Oh. Flying Lessons meets Black Boy Joy


Yuck, You Suck!: Poems about Animals That Sip, Slurp, Suck By Heidi E. y. Stemple, Jane Yolen, Eugenia Nobati (Illustrator) Cover Image
$20.99
ISBN: 9781728415666
Availability: Usually Ships in 4-7 Days
Published: Millbrook Press (Tm) - October 4th, 2022

Warning: this book sucks It bites, slurps, and sticks too.