What We're Reading Now

We're always on the lookout for wonderful new books, from picture books to adult, from light to literary.  Take a look at some of our current favorites, featured on the What We're Reading table this month.

$18.99
ISBN-13: 9781250059307
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: St. Martin's Griffin, 10/2014

From Ally Carter to Matt de la Pena, Jenny Han to David Levithan, twelve YA authors at the top of their game have contributed short stories with a holiday theme. And it's not just realistic fiction; you'll find fantasy and supernatural tales as well. This collection of twelve holiday stories is the perfect gift for the teen in your life! For grades 8 and up. -- Cathy


$24.99
ISBN-13: 9781414397542
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Tyndale House Publishers, 10/2014

Families will have a delightful time unwrapping the Christmas story from creation to the manger using Bible stories selected by Ann Voskamp, author of the wildly popular 1,000 Gifts. Beautifully illustrated, Unwrapping the Greatest Gift - A Family Celebration of Christmas is a wonderful Advent devotional that encourages families to cherish the true story of Christmas through Scripture readings that trace Jesus' family tree along with questions and activities designed to engage the whole family. – Martha


The Baking Bible (Hardcover)

$40.00
ISBN-13: 9781118338612
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin, 10/2014

The Baking Bible is just that - an indispensable resource for everyone who desires to bake luscious pies, cakes, cookies, pastries, and candies. With years of baking expertise and wisdom, Rose Levy Beranbaum fills every page with exquisitely photographed step-by-step instructions, troubleshooting advice, "golden rules", and tips that will allow anyone to achieve a baking nirvana. From the classic "melt in your mouth" chocolate chip cookie to the intriguing Kourambiethes that perfect the already wonderful Mexican wedding cookies, each recipe is sure to delight. – Martha


$17.00
ISBN-13: 9780316240772
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 11/2014

Orphan Fin is forgotten by all who see him, and he uses that to his advantage, finding a career as a thief in the pirate world of Khaznot Quay. Marrill is from Arizona and gets swept aboard a sailing ship that rises out of the mirage in an Arizona Parking lot. They’re desperate to return to their families and need to find the pieces of the Map to Everywhere before an evil wizard does. Husband and wife team Ryan and Davis have created a fantastic new series full of charm, adventure, and all around fun! For grades 4 and up. – Cathy


$16.95
ISBN-13: 9781419705182
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Abrams Appleseed, 10/2014

This engaging read aloud is a list of 100 things that make a child happy. From City Lights and Starry Nights to Strawberry Ice and Pizza Slice, each page shows kids doing what makes them happy. Vibrant images welcome the reader and may inspire your family to make your own list! For ages 3 and up. – Jennifer


Rites of Passage (Hardcover)

$17.99
ISBN-13: 9780062295194
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Teen, 9/2014

Sam McKenna, the only daughter in a famed military family, is among the first class of women entering Denmark Military Academy (DMA). She fully expects the physical hardships as well as the hostility, but she did not expect the brutal hazing and unrelenting threats. When a secret society is determined to drive the women from DMA, it takes everything Sam has to make it through. A tense thriller for grades 8 and up. – Cathy


$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780545525527
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books, 5/2014

Jackson Greene is known for his antics, but he’s been on his best behavior now for four whole months. He is one act away from being expelled from school, and more importantly, Gaby de la Cruz hasn’t spoken to him since his last stunt. However, when it becomes apparent that the Student Council election is rigged and the budgets for their favorite clubs are at risk, Jackson comes out of retirement to assemble a crack crew and concoct an elaborate plan to expose the culprit…and maybe win the girl. For grades 5 and up. – Jennifer


Atlantia (Hardcover)

$18.99
ISBN-13: 9780525426448
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton Juvenile, 10/2014

Although Rio and her twin sister, Bay, live in the beautiful underwater city of Atlantia, Rio has always dreamed of going Above, where few people live and struggle for survival. But she’s promised her sister they will stay together in Altantia, and that promise means more after their mother’s sudden, mysterious death. When they turn fifteen, however, Bay chooses Above, leaving Rio in Atlantia, struggling to figure out what happened and how she can join her sister on the surface. This stand-alone novel is perfect for fans of Condie’s Matched series who are in grades 7 and up. – Cathy


$26.99
ISBN-13: 9780399167911
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Philomel, 10/2014

Oliver Jeffers has created an expanded alphabet book with a story about each letter. Hilarious, wry and visually arresting - this is the perfect read-aloud, read-alone and Christmas gift. I am giving it to each of my nieces this season! – Cathy


The Face of Texas (Paperback)

$24.95
ISBN-13: 9780292763135
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University of Texas Press, 10/2014

Newly updated with fascinating stories about everyday Texans, famous Texans, and many in between, this art book will be perfect on the coffee table. The iconic Willie Nelson graces the cover. Get signed copies this week when the author and photographer come to West Houston Community Center as part of an ongoing speaker series. – Valerie


$28.00
ISBN-13: 9780553418842
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth, 10/2014

​In the very near future, Rev. Peter Leigh is invited by an organization known as USIC to travel to its outpost on a distant planet, Oasis, where he will minister to the native population in a nearby settlement. As he moves in with the Oasans, starts to build a church, and attempts to get to know the human-like beings, Peter comes to understand that his role, as seen by USIC's administration as well as its empathy-lacking, utilitarian-minded employees on Oasis, is something more than teaching Christianity to the natives. – Valerie


Lucky Us (Hardcover)

$26.00
ISBN-13: 9781400067244
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House, 8/2014

“My father’s wife died. My mother said we should drive down to his place and see what might be in it for us.” And suddenly Iris’s and Eva’s lives become forever entwined as each discovers the half-sister she never knew. As WWII rages in the background, the teenaged girls embark on a cross-country journey that takes them from the glamour of Hollywood to the golden mansions of Long Island. Along the way, the girls cling to one another in a newly forged friendship that allows them to survive bitter disappointment, searing betrayal, crushing failures and exhilarating triumphs. Readers can’t help but be swept up into the journey as the vivacious, tenacious sisters pursue their dreams with reckless abandon. – Martha


A Sudden Light (Hardcover)

$26.95
ISBN-13: 9781439187036
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster, 9/2014

Fourteen year old Trevor Riddell travels with his father, Jones, to the family's estate in the Pacific Northwest. Overlooking Puget Sound, the Riddell House was built by Trevor's great, great grandfather with the wealth he amassed from his timber company. Bankrupt Jones is returning home after a 23 year absence to help his sister, Serena, put their Alzheimer's stricken father in a nursing home and sell the family estate to developers so that they can receive the profits from the sale. There are, however, mysterious goings on, secret rooms hiding long lost diaries which contain deeply buried stories that need to be told, and the ghostly appearances of relatives who have plans of their own. Trevor discovers that the house won't rest until the truth is told. – Martha