What We're Reading Now

We're always on the lookout for wonderful new books, from picture books to adult, from light to literary.  Take a look at some of our current favorites.

$27.99
ISBN-13: 9780062198761
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco Press, 3/2015

The focal point of this novel is the gunfight at the O.K. Corral in October 1881, but because the shoot-out lasted less than a minute, there's a lot more to this well-researched historical novel and whopping good tale about the Earp brothers and Doc Holliday. Highly recommended. --Alice


Wish Girl (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9781595146861
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Razorbill, 2/2015

Twelve-year-old Peter Stone lives up to his name – being so quiet that his especially loud family hardly notices him. When his family moves to a remote home in the Texas Hill Country, Peter finds a quiet valley where he can enjoy stillness, and solitude. That is until one day when Annie interrupts his silence. She tells him that she’s a wish girl and whatever she wishes for comes true, but there’s one wish that won’t come true. -–Martha


We All Looked Up (Hardcover)

$17.99
ISBN-13: 9781481418775
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 3/2015

An Indies Introduce title that is already optioned for a movie, this is perfect for fans of The Fault in Our Stars. An asteroid may be headed directly for Earth, a potentially cataclysmic event that causes relationships to change. The popular kids mix with the geeks, the family bonds change, and the population of Seattle becomes unhinged. What would happen to society if we thought we were all doomed? -–Valerie


Razorhurst (Hardcover)

$18.99
ISBN-13: 9781616955441
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Teen, 3/2015

The movie industry in the 1930s was a magnet not only for actors but also for writers. F. Scott Fitzgerald moved to Hollywood, where he sank deeper into debt, alcohol abuse and ill health. O’Nan’s graceful treatment of Fitzger-ald’s difficult last years and his relation-ships with his wife and daughter makes this a worthwhile read. --AliceIn the early 1930's, Australia made it a crime to carry a concealed weapon, so the street thugs turned to razors. It's in this world that we find Kelpie, a young orphan who lives on the street and can see ghosts. She soon meets Dymphna, the prized moll of mob boss Gloriana Nelson. Kelpie and Dymphna join forces to survive and move up in this brutal underground society. Larbalestier weaves little-known history into this intriguing story that is best for grades 9 and up. -–Cathy


Counting Crows (Hardcover)

$17.99
ISBN-13: 9781442423275
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 3/2015

Counting is a basic concept that we encounter very early in life. There are many counting books, and this one is perfectly suited for a little one just learning and for the adult reader who will appreciate the beauty of Appelt's words and Dunlavey's illustrations--you will love these crows! There is necessary repetition to help the young listener, but never fear--Appelt's words will surprise over and over again. –-Valerie


$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780385752824
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers, 3/2015

When Julia's grandmother dies and their family estate is sold off, Julia and her Aunt Constance journey across the country to find Julia's mother, who is estranged from the family. Their trip takes them from New York to San Francisco with several stops in between. Quirky characters meet them in each city, as Julia and Constance learn that the journey is just as important as the destination. An engaging read for grades 4 and up. -–Cathy


Roller Girl (Paperback)

$12.99
ISBN-13: 9780803740167
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books, 3/2015

All through elementary school, Astrid and her best friend Nicole have done everything together. The summer before junior high, Astrid falls in love with roller derby and joins a summer derby camp, assuming that Nicole will do the same. But Nicole prefers ballet camp and boys, and the girls drift apart. This graphic novel provides a coming of age story to which we all can relate, regardless of our skating ability. For grades 4 and up. -–Cathy


Whisper Hollow (Paperback)

$17.95
ISBN-13: 9781590517116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Other Press, 3/2015

Oh, the secrets in Verra, West Virginia run deep and deadly. This multi-generational saga of families holds love, sorrow, and religion up to a mirror and then turns on itself. Myrthen loses her twin sister at a very early age and spends the rest of her life trying to atone for the accident. Alta loves and loses. Lydia has a secret that is causing her nightmares. Set in treacherous coal mining country, this novel will be perfect for book clubs. -–Valerie


$28.00
ISBN-13: 9780307408860
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown, 3/2015

A well-written story of intrigue and cross-purposes, inattention to detail, lone-wolf actors and quiet heroes, Dead Wake offers evidence that the sinking of the Lusitania was an avoidable tragedy. Larson is at his best when he brings the humanity of the passengers and crew to the forefront of the story, so that we get to know them as people before we see them, ultimately, as numbered corpses. Compelling! -–Paige


Glamourpuss (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780545609548
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Scholastic Press, 2/2015

Glamourpuss is an incredibly wealthy and glamourous cat. Her owners, Mr. and Mrs. Highhorsen, are gazillionaires. Glamourpuss is so glamourous that she doesn’t say “Meow,” she merely says “Me.” When Mr. Highhorsen’s sister Eugenia visits from Texas, she doesn’t come alone; she brings along her Chihuahua Bluebell. Readers will delight in what happens next! Paired with David Small’s marvelous illustrations, this picture book is a great read-aloud for ages 4 and up. --Barb


The Fifth Gospel (Hardcover)

$25.99
ISBN-13: 9781451694147
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster, 3/2015

Alex Andreou is Eastern Catholic priest and his brother, Simon is a Roman Catholic priest by choice both having been raised in the Eastern Catholic tradition. They have grown up in the Vatican City and remain close together while raising Alex's son, little Peter, who is now 5 years old. (Ok, so Eastern priests can marry before they are ordained.) Alex's life is simpler as a pre-seminary teacher while Simon is a world traveler and on his way up the hierarchy of the church. We enter the story when Simon's friend Ugo is found dead and Alex's home is ransacked. Impossibly the two acts become connected and then Simon is charged with his friend's murder. Alex must do all he can to save his brother and protect his son. --Kathleen


Red Queen (Hardcover)

$17.99
ISBN-13: 9780062310637
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Teen, 2/2015

Mare has red blood and is therefore destined for a life of servitude, if she’s lucky. Due to a freak accident, she goes from being an invisible servant to a winner of a duel who will eventually marry the crown prince’s younger brother. Though she becomes a pawn in a world as cruel as it is beautiful, Mare doesn’t forget where she’s from, or what she’s supposed to do, if only she knew which prince to trust. For grades 8 and up. --Paige


The Room (Paperback)

$14.00
ISBN-13: 9780804139984
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth, 2/2015

This witty satire of corporate bureaucracy, office cubicles, and water cooler gossip is the story of Bjorn, who copes with his job by trans-porting himself to an imaginary office near the restrooms, a place where he can work without stress. His output impresses his bosses, but his co-workers find him standing in the hallway, staring at the wall for disconcerting periods of time, and assume he is crazy. It’s a fun read! --Alice


West of Sunset (Hardcover)

$27.95
ISBN-13: 9780670785957
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking, 1/2015

The movie industry in the 1930s was a magnet not only for actors but also for writers. F. Scott Fitzgerald moved to Hollywood, where he sank deeper into debt, alcohol abuse and ill health. O’Nan’s graceful treatment of Fitzger-ald’s difficult last years and his relation-ships with his wife and daughter makes this a worthwhile read. --Alice


$19.99
ISBN-13: 9780007562473
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Friday Project, 2/2015

Six strangers suddenly find that their lives have gone astray. They must make sense of their losses while discovering that what truly matters may be beyond what is thought to be essential. This marvelous, fanciful, and thought-provoking tale is a real gem! --Martha