What We're Reading Now

We're always on the lookout for wonderful new books, from picture books to adult, from light to literary.  Take a look at some of our current favorites.

So Cozy (Hardcover)

$15.99
ISBN-13: 9780763673734
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick, 3/2015

Dog has a cozy bed that all the other animals want to share. Chaos ensues when mouse joins the heap of animals, which causes elephant to sneeze and disperse the cozy pile. Now dog and mouse can snuggle. Pictures and text combine into an adorable read-aloud for preschoolers. -- Laura


$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780385752824
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers, 3/2015

When Julia's grandmother dies and their family estate is sold off, Julia and her Aunt Constance journey across the country to find Julia's mother, who is estranged from the family. Their trip takes them from New York to San Francisco with several stops in between. Quirky characters meet them in each city, as Julia and Constance learn that the journey is just as important as the destination. An engaging read for grades 4 and up. -–Cathy


Roller Girl (Paperback)

$12.99
ISBN-13: 9780803740167
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books, 3/2015

All through elementary school, Astrid and her best friend Nicole have done everything together. The summer before junior high, Astrid falls in love with roller derby and joins a summer derby camp, assuming that Nicole will do the same. But Nicole prefers ballet camp and boys, and the girls drift apart. This graphic novel provides a coming of age story to which we all can relate, regardless of our skating ability. For grades 4 and up. -–Cathy


Whisper Hollow (Paperback)

$17.95
ISBN-13: 9781590517116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Other Press, 3/2015

Oh, the secrets in Verra, West Virginia run deep and deadly. This multi-generational saga of families holds love, sorrow, and religion up to a mirror and then turns on itself. Myrthen loses her twin sister at a very early age and spends the rest of her life trying to atone for the accident. Alta loves and loses. Lydia has a secret that is causing her nightmares. Set in treacherous coal mining country, this novel will be perfect for book clubs. -–Valerie


$28.00
ISBN-13: 9780307408860
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown, 3/2015

A well-written story of intrigue and cross-purposes, inattention to detail, lone-wolf actors and quiet heroes, Dead Wake offers evidence that the sinking of the Lusitania was an avoidable tragedy. Larson is at his best when he brings the humanity of the passengers and crew to the forefront of the story, so that we get to know them as people before we see them, ultimately, as numbered corpses. Compelling! -–Paige


$24.95
ISBN-13: 9780393239133
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company, 3/2015

Disillusioned with her job as a journalist and prompted by a desire to make something tangible, Nina MacLaughlin applied for a Craigslist job offering as an apprentice carpenter. This is the story of how she learned the difference between flathead and Philliips screwdrivers and is a rumination on the joy of personal growth through literal re-construction. – Paige


Razorhurst (Hardcover)

$18.99
ISBN-13: 9781616955441
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Teen, 3/2015

In the early 1930's, Australia made it a crime to carry a concealed weapon, so the street thugs turned to razors. It's in this world that we find Kelpie, a young orphan who lives on the street and can see ghosts. She soon meets Dymphna, the prized moll of mob boss Gloriana Nelson. Kelpie and Dymphna join forces to survive and move up in this brutal underground society. Larbalestier weaves little-known history into this intriguing story that is best for grades 9 and up. -–Cathy


$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780375870774
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers, 3/2015

In the newest Penderwicks tale, Rosalind is away at college, Skye and Jane in high school, Batty in fifth grade, Ben in second grade and there’s a new toddler, Lydia. All the familiar characters are back, satisfying those who know and love the series, but you can be a newcomer to this series and love the story as much as I did. For grades 4 and up. – Cathy


Wish Girl (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9781595146861
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Razorbill, 2/2015

Twelve-year-old Peter Stone lives up to his name – being so quiet that his especially loud family hardly notices him. When his family moves to a remote home in the Texas Hill Country, Peter finds a quiet valley where he can enjoy stillness, and solitude. That is until one day when Annie interrupts his silence. She tells him that she’s a wish girl and whatever she wishes for comes true, but there’s one wish that won’t come true. -–Martha


$27.99
ISBN-13: 9780062198761
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco Press, 3/2015

The focal point of this novel is the gunfight at the O.K. Corral in October 1881, but because the shoot-out lasted less than a minute, there's a lot more to this well-researched historical novel and whopping good tale about the Earp brothers and Doc Holliday. Highly recommended. --Alice


Red Queen (Hardcover)

$17.99
ISBN-13: 9780062310637
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Teen, 2/2015

Mare has red blood and is therefore destined for a life of servitude, if she’s lucky. Due to a freak accident, she goes from being an invisible servant to a winner of a duel who will eventually marry the crown prince’s younger brother. Though she becomes a pawn in a world as cruel as it is beautiful, Mare doesn’t forget where she’s from, or what she’s supposed to do, if only she knew which prince to trust. For grades 8 and up. --Paige


The Room (Paperback)

$14.00
ISBN-13: 9780804139984
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth, 2/2015

This witty satire of corporate bureaucracy, office cubicles, and water cooler gossip is the story of Bjorn, who copes with his job by trans-porting himself to an imaginary office near the restrooms, a place where he can work without stress. His output impresses his bosses, but his co-workers find him standing in the hallway, staring at the wall for disconcerting periods of time, and assume he is crazy. It’s a fun read! --Alice


The Walls Around Us (Hardcover)

$17.95
ISBN-13: 9781616203726
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 3/2015

This story is told in the voices of Amber, convicted at age 13 of killing her abusive stepfather, and Vee, a Julliard-bound ballerina. We learn about Ori, Vee's former best friend, who was accused of a horrific crime. This look at life in a juvenile detention center will entrance you -- you won't be able to put it down! For grades 9 and up. – Cathy


We All Looked Up (Hardcover)

$17.99
ISBN-13: 9781481418775
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 3/2015

An Indies Introduce title that is already optioned for a movie, this is perfect for fans of The Fault in Our Stars. An asteroid may be headed directly for Earth, a potentially cataclysmic event that causes relationships to change. The popular kids mix with the geeks, the family bonds change, and the population of Seattle becomes unhinged. What would happen to society if we thought we were all doomed? -–Valerie


$19.99
ISBN-13: 9780007562473
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Friday Project, 2/2015

Six strangers suddenly find that their lives have gone astray. They must make sense of their losses while discovering that what truly matters may be beyond what is thought to be essential. This marvelous, fanciful, and thought-provoking tale is a real gem! --Martha