The Watermelon Seed (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Watermelon Seed Cover Image
By Greg Pizzoli, Greg Pizzoli (Illustrator)
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
5 on hand, as of Dec 14 12:15pm
(CHILDREN PICTURE BOOKS)

Staff Reviews


Didn't you grow up hearing that if you accidentally swallow a watermelon seed a watermelon will grow in your stomach? This is begging to be read aloud at storytime! Alligator loves melon but when the inevitable happens he swears off melon. But really, how can he? For ages 3 and up.

— Valerie

Description


With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love.

With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli's picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box.

About the Author


Greg Pizzoli is an author, illustrator and screen printer. When not chomping down on watermelon, he can be found in his studio or teaching at the University of the Arts in Philadelphia, where he also received his MFA. This is his first book. Visit him at www.gregpizzoli.com. Awards2011 52nd Communication Arts Illustration Annual: Self Promotion Category2011 Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators Illustrator Showcase Honor Award
Product Details
ISBN: 9781423171010
ISBN-10: 1423171012
Publisher: Disney Editions
Publication Date: May 14th, 2013
Pages: 40
Language: English