Me and Marvin Gardens (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Me and Marvin Gardens Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Dec 15 6:45pm
(CHILDREN JUV NOVELS)

Staff Reviews


Eleven-year-old Obe Devlin lives on the last three acres of family farmland, land that has been mortgaged over the past 100 years and is now being developed. He spends his time avoiding math homework, identifying animal tracks, and cleaning the part of the creek that separates his family’s property and the new housing subdivisions. When he discovers a frightening-looking—but friendly—creature who eats only plastic, Obe’s first inclination is to keep it secret. But to keep both his new friend and the environment safe, Obe is going to have to confide in someone. For readers 9 and above and especially for fans of Hoot and The Penderwicks.

— Jennifer

Description


The first middle-grade novel from Printz Honor-winning author Amy Sarig (A. S.) King is a boy-meets-animal story like no other, and has earned three starred reviews
Obe Devlin has problems. His family's farmland has been taken over by developers. His best friend Tommy abandoned him for the development kids. And he keeps getting nosebleeds, because of that thing he doesn't like to talk about. So Obe hangs out at the creek by his home, in the last wild patch left, picking up trash and looking for animal tracks.
One day, he sees a creature that looks kind of like a large dog. And as he watches it, he realizes it eats plastic. Only plastic. Water bottles, shopping bags... No one has seen a creature like this before, because there's never been a creature like this before. The animal--Marvin Gardens--becomes Obe's best friend and biggest secret. But to keep him safe from the developers and Tommy and his friends, Obe must make a decision that might change everything.

About the Author


Amy Sarig King has published many critically acclaimed young adult novels under the name A. S. King, including Please Ignore Vera Dietz, which was named a Michael L. Printz Honor Book, and Ask the Passengers, which won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. After many years farming abroad, she now lives back in southeastern Pennsylvania, with her family. Visit her website at www.as-king.com and follow her on Twitter at @AS_King.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780545870740
ISBN-10: 0545870747
Publisher: Arthur A. Levine Books
Publication Date: January 31st, 2017
Pages: 256
Language: English