Loki's Wolves

Loki's Wolves (Hardcover)

$17.00
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand as of Apr 21 10:19pm (CHILDRENS JUV NOVELS)

Staff Reviews



Matt and Fen have always been enemies. Matt, a descendent of the mighty Norse god Thor, is somewhat of a disappointment to his dad, who happens to be the sheriff. Fen is an unwanted kid in a family of trouble-makers, all descended from Loki. And Thor and Loki took opposite sides during the Twilight of the Gods. Now Ragnarok, the Final Battle, is at hand, and the champions of the gods will fight again. Matt must convince Fen to join the fight against the monsters, or risk plunging the world onto another ice age. A fun, fast-paced read for fans of Percy Jackson. Grades 4 and up.

--Paige

Description


"The runes have spoken. We have our champion...Matthew Thorsen."

Matt hears the words, but he can't believe them. He's Thor's representative? Destined to fight trolls, monstrous wolves and giant serpents...or the world ends? He's only thirteen.

While Matt knew he was a modern-day descendent of Thor, he's always lived a normal kid's life. In fact, most people in the small town of Blackwell, South Dakota, are direct descendants of either Thor or Loki, including Matt's classmates Fen and Laurie Brekke. No big deal.

But now Ragnarok is coming, and it's up to the champions to fight in the place of the long-dead gods. Matt, Laurie, and Fen's lives will never be the same as they race to put together an unstoppable team, find Thor's hammer and shield, and prevent the end of the world.

In their middle grade debut, K.L. Armstrong and M.A. Marr begin the epic Blackwell Pages series with this action-packed adventure, filled with larger-than-life legends, gripping battles, and an engaging cast of characters who bring the myths to life.

About the Author


K.L. Armstrong & M.A. Marr had been friends for several years and found themselves spending hours talking about mythology and monsters. One sleepy morning, they realized that M.A.'s second last name is Norwegian. (The similarity between that name and "Midgard Serpent" is totally coincidental.) With that link, in addition to K.L.'s love for tackling creatures in video games when not writing (and sometimes when she's supposed to be writing), their monster and myth fixation, and the books they read with their eleven- to thirteen-year-old sons, they knew they had to write the Blackwell Pages.
K.L. Armstong and M.A. Marr invite you to visit them at www.blackwellpages.com.

Praise for Loki's Wolves…


Praise for Loki's Wolves:
"Norse mythology brought to life with engaging contemporary characters and future volumes that promise explosive action; ideal for Percy Jackson fans who want to branch out."—Kirkus Reviews

This rousing, fast-paced adventure, first in the Blackwell Pages trilogy, will please readers who loved John Stephens's Books of Beginning and Rick Riordan's modern-day twists on ancient myth.—Publishers Weekly

"Loki's Wolves brings Norse mythology to the modern world...The background and explanation of the legends are clear and a natural fit to the story and dialogue, bringing life to lesser-known Norse mythology...Recommended for those who enjoyed Rick Riordan's 'Percy Jackson and the Olympians' series."—School Library Journal

"This smart, fast-paced, action-packed novel...offers readers a solid adventure story that still manages not to skimp on character...An excellent what-to-read-next for Percy Jackson fans, this novel will also please young readers of Marvel's Thor and myth-lovers already familiar with Norse lore..."—Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Fierce adventure, lightening pace, furious action, and original, engaging characters. I was hooked from the first hammer swing."—Eoin Colfer, New York Times bestselling author ofArtemis Fowl

"Loki's Wolves has everything--a fast-paced, exciting plot, endearing and honest characters, Norse mythology with a contemporary twist, and plenty of heart. I can't wait to find out what happens to Matt, Laurie, and Fen!"—Ally Condie, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Matched

"These authors are no strangers to weaving a compelling tale. Once the story moves past the background, the plot picks up quickly and the adventure doesn't disappoint."—Library Media Connection

Product Details ISBN-10: 031620496X
ISBN-13: 9780316204965
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 05/07/2013
Pages: 368
Language: English
Recommended Reading Level Minimum Age: 8
Maximum Age: 12
Minimum Grade Level: 3rd Grade
Maximum Grade Level: 7th Grade