Calling My Name (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Calling My Name Cover Image
$17.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


Taja is questioning her life and her faith. She's a typical teenager living in Houston with her loving family. Faith is something different to all people. How does she figure out what life might bring her? This quiet novel doesn't not preach or try to explain the meaning of life. We are just happy to be with her on the journey.

— Valerie

Description


Calling My Name, by debut author Liara Tamani, is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self--ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros.

This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and it deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose.

Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that deftly captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062656865
ISBN-10: 0062656864
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: October 24th, 2017
Pages: 320
Language: English