Truly Devious: A Mystery (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Truly Devious: A Mystery Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
82 on hand, as of Mar 23 2:45am

Staff Reviews


True crime fan Stevie Bell begins her freshman year at Ellingham Academy, a private school that's the site of one of the greatest unsolved crimes in history. Ellingham's curriculum allows for "playful learning" and independent study, allowing Stevie to try to solve the original crime. Her new classmates have secrets of their own and when another crime occurs, Stevie finds herself solving two cases at once. A well-done mystery full of plenty of tension and Johnson's signature observational humor. Bravo! Best for grades 9 and up. 

— Cathy


New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart.

Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. "A place," he said, "where learning is a game."

Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym "Truly, Devious." It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.

True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester. But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder.

The two interwoven mysteries of this first book in the Truly Devious series dovetail brilliantly, and Stevie Bell will continue her relentless quest for the murderers in books two and three.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062338051
ISBN-10: 0062338056
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: January 16th, 2018
Pages: 432
Language: English
Series: Truly Devious